TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Road Trip to Canada

Discussion in 'Mid-Atlantic' started by Yinn, May 16, 2017.

  1. Yinn

    Yinn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    Behind you
    I'm looking to take a road trip from the the PA/NJ/NY area to Toronto or Montreal this summer. Has anyone done the drive? I'm kind of curious to what happens with the internet connectivity. Do the superchargers in canada work the same in terms of open access, idle billing, etc.?

    Thanks,
     
  2. Sasmania

    Sasmania Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    It works the same... no problem. I did that trip, plus Vancouver to Calgary which was the most incredible stretch of road of my entire 48 state and Canada road trip...
     
    • Like x 3
  3. wesley888

    wesley888 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Huntington Station, NY
    What about internet connectivity in Canada? I was thinking having a road trip to Canada from NYC as well.
     
  4. Sasmania

    Sasmania Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    It works the same.
     
    • Informative x 1
  5. jbcarioca

    jbcarioca Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,679
    No problem at all in the East. I cannot speak to the remainder of Canada since I have not driven a Tesla in Canada apart from the Maritimes, Quebec and Ontario.
     
    • Informative x 1
  6. Yinn

    Yinn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    Behind you
    Awesome, thank you!

    I didn't know if it would still be active since it would be considered international/roaming for internet connectivity - if I'd have streaming radio, navigation etc.

    Happy to hear it's the same experience.
     
  7. RedFiveZero

    RedFiveZero Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I just completed a round trip from York, PA to Canada. I stayed for several days in St. Catherines, ON and traveled as far as Mississauga-- almost all the way to Toronto. I didn't experience any problems. Though I did notice a few minor oddities. Notice the speed limit sign says "161". Neither 161 km/h or 161 mph makes any sense. I think AP read the posted speed limit sign of "100" and erroneously translated it to 161 MPH. Also, I had to manually switch to metric: Settings > Units & Formats.

    IMG_0570.jpg
     
    • Informative x 1
  8. Gwgan

    Gwgan Almost a wagon

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,536
    Location:
    Maine
    What version are you on? This bug has recently resurfaced. Please report it, the more the merrier.
     
  9. RedFiveZero

    RedFiveZero Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    8.1 Immediately after returning from Canada my Model X 75D AP 2 updated to version 17.17.4. So it would have been the version before that. Unfortunately I do not remember what the version number was.
     
  10. loganss

    loganss Spaceman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    496
    Location:
    Maryland
    I'll be making a road trip to Montreal from MD in a few days. I've got two potential paths. Cut through PA NY or take 95 through DE NJ NY. Leaning towards PA in hopes of less traffic.

    Anything to watch out for at the border crossing?
     
  11. Yinn

    Yinn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    Behind you
    From MD, depending on time of day I usually cut through PA and back into NJ around the New Hope/Yardley area. Less traffic and no tolls. Only negative is no SCs that way..
     
  12. paulkva

    paulkva Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Falls Church, VA
    I agree there's likely less traffic through PA up I-81 than NJ. Probably more elevation change overall, but there should be enough superchargers along the way. According to EV Trip Planner, routing from the Laurel supercharger to the Saint-Laurent supercharger, it's an extra 15-20 rated miles total and 50-55 minutes to go via I-81 vs. I-95 / I-87 -- that includes charging time but doesn't account for differences in traffic. (I chose Laurel arbitrarily since you didn't say where in MD.)

    I can't say anything about the border crossings; I haven't driven quite that far north. (I only got as far as Cooperstown and Albany last summer.)
     
  13. loganss

    loganss Spaceman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    496
    Location:
    Maryland
    Road trip complete. This is more or less the route I took:
    https://goo.gl/maps/U4fL6igNjFN2

    Decided to bypass Syracuse since it involved diverting from the main road in a dense population area.

    The border crossing was fairly painless. I tested out the use of the passport card and it worked out great heading into Canada and back into the US. The guards I encountered were pretty nice and gave me no hassles.

    I ended up not bothering using the Montreal charger and just charged up at Cornwall longer to just reach my final destination in Montreal with enough energy to go back to Cornwall when leaving.

    Internet cut out a few miles past the toll before Canada but came back for the rest of the journey. I continued to listen to some D.M.V. stations while up using TuneIn streaming radio.

    I wasn't a fan of the Tesla app automatically changing it's default measurements based on my location (e.g. metric in Canada and English in US) but that was a minor annoyance.
     
  14. Jim R

    Jim R Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia, Canada
    Here's what probably happened - car read 100, (100MPH is 161 kmph) and converted to kms for you (somehow unaware it was in Canada where kms are on the sign. You still have a bug, but this is my guess as to how it went astray.
     
  15. RiverBrick

    RiverBrick Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,671
    Location:
    Québec
    Yes, after crossing the border into Quebec, watch out for Photo Radar all over the province. (Waze is your friend). Some are in legitimate locatations and improve safety, but many are cash-grabs that trap people who aren't driving unsafely at all.
     
  16. yangster

    yangster New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Took delivery of my 75D today in Oakville, ON. Noticed the same problem, reading speed limit in mph and then converted into km/h.
    Really strange cuz I'm based out of Canada and all references have been set to metric.
    Switching the units back and forth did not seem to do the trick.
    Reported a bug...let's see what happens.
     
  17. yangster

    yangster New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    2017.34 2448cfc addressed this bug.
     
  18. realvvk

    realvvk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Yep, I just returned from Canada and everything was showing up perfectly. It was very helpful to see automatically converted speed limits on the dashboard instead of doing the math in your head.

    Love the new supercharger in Painted Post/Corning. Makes the drive so much better.
     
  19. PLUS EV

    PLUS EV Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    Messages:
    817
    Location:
    Seattle
    Just noticed this thread. I'm in Quebec right now and have traveled extensively through BC and Alberta as well and I can confirm that there are no issues with internet, nav, and all the streaming stuff. Of course in some rural areas, your internet goes out and the streaming radio stops working, but this happens in the US too and I would say the reliability is approximately similar in Canada.

    I still have the km/mi conversion bug! It looks like some of you are saying this was fixed but not for me. When I first crossed in to Canada I switched to metric, but all the 161 and 193 kph speed limits showing up in the dash proved too annoying so I had to switch back to miles. Then at least I can look down at the dash and know what the speed limit is (in kph). Fortunately I'm good at math and have a lot of experience driving in Canada so it's pretty much second nature for me anyway to know that 80kph=50mph, 100kph=62mph etc.

    The way it is set up would work well if I were a Canadian wanting to travel in the US using metric, but it doesn't work going the other direction! It seems like the car should know I'm in Canada with the GPS and all. One strange thing is the cruise control does actually set to an appropriate speed. For example, I have it set to automatically go 10mph over the speed limit. If I'm in a 100kph zone and I activate the cruise control it will set it to 72mph which is 10 over the speed limit of 62mph.
     
  20. mrElbe

    mrElbe Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,197
    Location:
    Stouffville, ON Canada
    Cruise control and Autopilot code is separate from the speed display and limit code. Latest firmware is supposed to fix the math. We'll se this Friday when I travel to Syracuse, NY.
     

Share This Page