Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Safe Margins

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

Beta V

Author, Dad, Mentor, Technology Critic
Nov 8, 2017
Redmond, WA USA
I've been driving for about 55 years. I never drive in the center of the lane--the yellow strip on the left and the white shoulder line on the right. Never. When I can, I drive in a lane which gives me a buffer between opposing traffic or traffic in other lanes. Driving in the center cuts that down by two or more feet. When in the far left (fast) lane, I don't hug the wall, but I also give myself a larger buffer than the autodrive track does.

I suggest Tesla give us a choice to slide the "center" target line over a bit in either direction to add more buffer and reaction time when someone crosses into our lane. Given how poorly the Tesla predicts how a blocking car is moving out of the way, I think this makes sense.

We should also be able to designate (or the vehicle should sense) that we meet the "high=occupancy" requirements of a highway and automatically route us into that extra lane.

This is more important than fart noises.

• Disagree
Reactions: Bogobec
Riding in the center is by far the safest position. It gives you the best ability to avoid obstacles on both sides. It is also just the best when you are in lanes with standard traffic on either side. Like lanes 2-3 on an 8 lane highway. What becomes really dangerous is people who don't feel comfortable driving 1 ft from a concrete wall and they move away from it, either removing others safety margin, or actually moving into other lanes. You ought to try driving the Dallas loop where their are columns that you have to pass within what seems inches..

Having Tesla move the car to the side you want is counter to the Autopilot solution. You aren't driving, your reaction times aren't important.