Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Saving Joshua Brown

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi.
I am a control systems engineer. Joshua Brown's death was tragic. Here is a quick solution for preventing further accidents like this. I hope it gets some traction.
There is a fantastic product opportunity here. I wouldn't be surprised if someone has either already done it or has it in the works. It would be a natural extension to the product line of Tom-Tom or Garman or Apple or Samsung. That is: a simple device that you throw into your glovebox pretty much like a mobile phone that calculates your vehicle's current GPS coordinates, speed and heading and transmits it on a wireless net to the surrounding vehicles. A simple calculation would then be able to predict a collision. The cheap model would just sound an alarm. The more expensive model would be integrated into the vehicles braking system. This would have saved the life of Joshua Brown. If that truck was carrying such a device even if it wasn't connected to the truck's brakes the Tesla vehicle would have been able to "see" that truck and apply its brakes. If this warning device cost less than 100 dollars it would be an affordable and really cool thing to have in your car to make sure all these driverless vehicles avoided you. You could even throw in a chat function (supported by a cell phone app) so the kids in the back seat could talk to the kids in the surrounding cars. The mind boggles at the possibilities. You could even have an IFF-like squawk transmitting your philosophy of life: "MGB fast mover - death or glory - outa-my-way I waste nerds" ... This would immediately cause your Tesla control system two double the following distance.