Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Single click autosteer and listening to messages

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

lbeder

Nov 4, 2021
USA
I have a new Model S with a yoke. I have set up single click autosteer activation, but how can I also use the right wheel to listen to messages? One click tells the car to go in/out of autosteer. One click is also supposed to read messages, but it doesn’t. It shouldn’t be that I need to stick with double-click, or one click wouldn’t be an option. What am I missing?

I'm completely new to the Model S, but from what I've learned so far, double click is used if you want a single click to be cruise control and a double click to be autopilot--otherwise a single click will start autopilot. At least that's what it seems to me?

Still haven't figured out any of the message reading stuff...it looks like iPhone message reading isn't supported?

I have a new Model S with a yoke. I have set up single click autosteer activation, but how can I also use the right wheel to listen to messages? One click tells the car to go in/out of autosteer. One click is also supposed to read messages, but it doesn’t. It shouldn’t be that I need to stick with double-click, or one click wouldn’t be an option. What am I missing?
I figured it out (when I wasn’t driving), realizing that a pop up shows to click the mic on the yoke. Crisis averted. Thanks!

I recommend that you set it to 2-click AP (1-click TACC)
Pressing it again also cancels autosteer.
Right Scroll wheel on new Model S is dedicated to FSD. I’m guessing it’s to avoid unintentional acceleration…
This is the consequence of deleting the Autopilot stalk.

Reactions: pilotSteve
The yoke does not provide equal functionality to the older steering wheel and stalks. Amazing Tesla would implement newer technology with less functionality just for appearance and "cool" factor sake.