TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Slacker error or feature?

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by kgb, Feb 24, 2013.

  1. kgb

    kgb Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I've had my Model S for 4 days now, and only one time I had this weird behavior. Can someone tell me if I accidentally activated some feature, or was this a bug.

    Normal Behavior:
    When I am playing slacker music, when one song ends, there is a brief pause as a new song is located, then it starts playing.

    Unusual behavior:
    Last night, I was playing slacker music, when one song ended, there was a brief pause and a new song was located, but it did not start. It was like it loaded in the "paused" state. Pressing the play button or the left click wheel (on the steering wheel) would start the song, but I had to do that for each and every song. Anyhow, after I parked and charged the car, everything went back to normal.

    Anyone know what to do when that happens? Is parking the car or charging the car the equivalent of Ctrl-Alt-Delete?
     
  2. SteveH

    SteveH Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    Holding down both of the selection wheels on the steering wheel is Ctrl-Alt-Delete and that would have likely fixed it too. That would likely clear it too. Haven't seen this behavior yet. Definitely see it as a bug not a feature.
     
  3. scriptacus

    scriptacus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Lost/Slow network connection perhaps?
     
  4. Todd Burch

    Todd Burch Electron Pilot

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4,737
    Location:
    Smithfield, VA
    Yes, it sounds like you probably had a slow network connection. If the data rate was too slow, it might have been buffering. Pressing the button forced it to play, just like a streaming QuickTime video when you force it to play before it has buffered enough data.
     
  5. Trnsl8r

    Trnsl8r Blue 85kwh since 12/8/12

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,676
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    I had this happen yesterday too. Didn't think to try pause/play and just went for the two thumb reboot. That fixed it.
     
  6. spatterso911

    spatterso911 MSP#7577 **--** MX#1891

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,213
    Location:
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    I've had this happen a few times too, and pressing play keeps the song, otherwise, it actually skips to a new song...

    I noted that the 3G was rather weak (1-2 bars) when this was happening.
     
  7. NigelM

    NigelM Recovering Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    13,257
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    This. If you go momentarily out of range it can happen.
     

Share This Page