TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Touchscreen Unresponsive

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by mknox, Jun 10, 2015.

  1. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,568
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Currently on a road trip from the Toronto area to the Chicago area. Just as I arrived at my destination in the Chicago area yesterday, my 17" touchscreen became unresponsive to touch and there was an error message on the dash below the speedo that said something like "Touchscreen Error - Contact Tesla Service". I noticed that if I used the steering wheel controls to pause and play the audio that the pause/play icon on the screen would change -- so the screen wasn't frozen, I just couldn't make it do anything with my finger.

    So I tried re-booting and it came back to "life" working as before. Little worried about the trip home because you kinda do need the screen to be able to operate a lot of the car's functions.

    Should I be worried? Anyone else seen anything like this? One time glitch maybe?
     
  2. apacheguy

    apacheguy Sig 255, VIN 320

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,722
    Location:
    So Cal
    I noticed last week that my touchscreen went completely dark while I had a FW update pending. Reboot fixed it both times and haven't had the issue on .239 yet. Probably just a bug if a reboot fixes it.
     
  3. AmpedRealtor

    AmpedRealtor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4,705
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ
    Two weeks ago I got into the car and the 17" screen was black - no signs of life. I rebooted and it reappeared. That's the first time this has happened to me.
     
  4. kyalami

    kyalami Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    Happened to me yesterday afternoon when I got in car and started it. Quick call to service desk and I was informed on how to reboot the screen. Came back fine. Looks like a software bug which should be corrected in a future release I suspect.
     
  5. mikeg561

    mikeg561 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    huntington beach, ca

    How do you reboot? My car is still in production queue, so I have not tried this yet.
     
  6. clea

    clea Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    817
    Location:
    Laval, Quebec
    It happened to me twice in a short span last year in the fall and hasn't happened since ... I wouldn't worry too much as it is probably just a sw bug. However it would be prudent to inform the SC so they can pull the logs to double check.
     
  7. imherkimer

    imherkimer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    United States
    Had this happen in my car 18 months ago. Couldn't use touchscreen. Rebooted and has never happened again. Don't know what happened.
     
  8. TexasEV

    TexasEV Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,787
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Hold both scroll wheels down until it restarts.
     
  9. taurusking

    taurusking Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    East Texas
    I had the same thing happen a month back and when I informed the service center...they could not find anything and they recommended rebooting and has not happened after that...
     

Share This Page