Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Used Tesla S issues?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hey folks, I'm a newb on the forum. Had a few questions on used model S cars.

Currently my wife drives an E320 diesel Benz, its a 2005 with 149k on the clock. There are things we love about the Benz like its torque and fuel economy for its size (35-42mpg). However its pretty old and has needed lots of things fixing; I do all the work on the cars like repairs and servicing myself.
Its at the age that I'm waiting for more things to fail on it and so we've been thinking of replacing it.

I have two cars, a 911 and a chevy volt. I have 131k on the volt which I drive daily and I love commuting on electric. Its had ONE major fault at 129k when the charging module failed, I bought a used module and swapped it out myself and its all good.

If we do get her a replacement car I'm leaning towards electric for a few reasons. One is the low maintenance, I can do the tranny oil and coolant/brake fluid myself and EV's require so much less work than an ICE.

Two she gets free electricity, she owns part of the family business and putting a charger in (which we won't have to pay for either) is not a problem, we live near her work so she can pretty much charge there for free 99% of the time. Currently I think she spend about $150 a month on diesel.

The prices of used model S cars has really dropped recently, partly due to the model 3 and partly here in CA due to the white HOV stickers expiring.

I've done some homework on S faults and it seems to boil down to: the single board computer (with touchscreen), door handles, motor bearing failures and battery pack faults.

Have I missed anything? some of the S's I've seen online still have warranty which is great but if we bought one this would be a long term thing, we'd go for a 2012-2014 S with 85kwh battery.