Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Where should I install a charger inside my garage?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I have my own ideas, but considering I'm brand new to this (Tesla specifically but also EV in general), it occurred to me that maybe I should seek advice.

By world standards, I'm sure we have a huge garage. Yet, it always feels cramped. Right now we park our little Honda Fit in there and between tools, lawnmowers, kid's toys and random junk... there's no way I could park a 2nd car in there, let alone something as big as the S. OK, so Honda now lives outside, I'm good with that :)

I normally park nose in, on the side nearest the door to the house. The charging port on the car is on the driver side rear, right? So that would mean I'd have to walk to the back of the car and then back to the front. So am I better off changing my habits and backing in? That would have the advantage of installing the charger closer to the electrical panel (which is on the opposite side of the wall with the door, but in the basement). Then I'd get out and walk toward the door and plug in on my way, right?

That's what I think I should do anyway. Other thoughts/suggestions? Might as well get it right the first time.

I'd get used to backing in. You'll have to do that for most superchargers as well.
Being close to the panel will make the install a little cheaper (for the electrician at least), and will also reduce voltage drop (microscopically).

I'd go with the long cord wall connector (7.3m), which will give you some more options if you want to park outside the garage sometimes, or nose first.

Reactions: KJD and jbcarioca
I'd get used to backing in. You'll have to do that for most superchargers as well.
Being close to the panel will make the install a little cheaper (for the electrician at least), and will also reduce voltage drop (microscopically).