Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Can Y open garage door without myQ?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I have an old LiftMaster garage door opener. It doesn't support MyQ.
My 2018 Model 3 "learned" the door opener clicker code and was able to open the door from the car touch screen however we can't figure out how to get my new 2023 Model Y to do that.
Is it possible?
I'm confused about HomeLink and myQ. Even if I were to get a new garage door opener, would I then have to pay a monthly subscription fee to myQ in order to get the car to open the door? That seems ridiculous. But perhaps I just don't understand the process.
thanks for the help in advance.

Reactions: idealsol
New tesla Ys and 3s do not come with Homelink standard, like your 2018 did, so the answer to your thread question (which is "Can Y open garage door without MyQ") is:

"Yes, if you purchase homelink and have Tesla install it. Homelink does not require a subscription but does require a purchase of the module. MyQ requires a subscription if you do it the normal way".

I recommend either buying homelink, if you want to duplicate the experience from your 2018 vehicle, or , using the garage door clicker for free that you already have.

One thing to note about HomeLink installation. I've been told by Tesla that they no longer want to do those installs via mobile technician. They prefer you to make service center appointments for it now. They also told me that they no longer help you program the remotes (this seems obvious, since they wouldn't be at your home to do it, but they pointed it out to me when I called).

• Informative
Reactions: Mike_TV
One thing to note about HomeLink installation. I've been told by Tesla that they no longer want to do those installs via mobile technician.