Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Charging Amp Question

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Charging question for the group.

As a new user, first thing I got completed was the installation of a 240 outlet in my garage. It’s a attached to my breaker as a 60amp.

When I charge, the max rate I see is 40a. Should I see something faster on my car’s dash as a charge daily?

Silly question I know but I am a newbie.

The 240 outlet would be a NEMA 14-50. The maximum rated continuous load is 40A. The UMC knows this and that is the maximum it will draw.

If you replace the plug with a wall connector, then you could set it to charge at 48A. That is the maximum continuous load for a 60A circuit.

In practice, you are unlikely to need more power than 40A for nightly charging.

• Informative
Reactions: GaryW and David29
If the outlet you installed is a NEMA-1450 then that outlet is limited to 50 amps. The Tesla Universal Mobile Charger (UMC) that comes with the car will limit that draw to 80% of 50 amps for safety reasons. This is why you are seeing 40 amps on the dash.

• Informative
Reactions: David29
  • Helpful
Reactions: Rocky_H and gavine
and if doesn't, get my installer back out? or do I possibly have a bad cable?

I also noticed a reset button on my cable...What is that for?
I’m sure your installation is fine, and a max 40A charge is normal.
Don’t worry, 40A at 240V is plenty fast enough. I run my home charging at 25A/240V and the car is always finished long before I wake up, even if charging from totally empty to 100%.

Got it....So when the charge is doing its thing.....What number should I see on my screen specially next to the 40a number?

Should it show 40/40a or something lower?