Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Charging from a Dryer?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
please excuse my ignorance, im no electrician nor do i know much about electricity and voltage. but ive read that some people in between houses (like me) are able to use their dryers to charge their EV cars, instead of the painful 110V wall charger. i know most dryers are 220V/240V. does this work? how fast is the charge? i assume a special adapter is normally needed?

thanks in advance!

Reactions: jmsurpri
I assume what you mean is their dryer plugs, which usually are either NEMA 14-30s or NEMA 10-30s. You can charge from them just fine. Assuming you get somewhere around 220v, you would get something like 20 mph charge.

Tesla used to offer 14-30 adapters for the UMC and some locations may still have some leftover in stock. I can't recall whether 10-30 adapters existed. You can build your own adapter (search the web for Tesla adapter Cosmashelf for good references). The key concern is if the adapter ends with a 14-50 plug, you must make sure every time you plug in the car, it has charging reduces to 24 amp. If you can find one of those adapters, the UMC would automatically handle being at the lower amperage.

so i found out i have a NEMA 14-30 on the dryer...so i would need to find an adapter aftermarket for this to work?

Attachments

• tet.jpg
    tet.jpg
    17.4 KB · Views: 80
You don't need a new adapter. You can just mod your UMC plug for the 14-30 receptacle as recommended below.

Ingineer said:
You can literally just cut the neutral prong off the 14-50 adapter, then it will work in 3 outlet types; 14-30, 14-50 and 14-60. The neutral is not used in the UMC, and it's just a dummy pin. Just be sure to set your max current to 24A when using it on a 14-30 or you will trip the breaker. View attachment 110270
upload_2016-5-6_19-32-6.png