Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Do I need to buy any additional chargers?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I apologize for such a noob question but it's my first time owning an electric vehicle so I'm a bit confused.
My condo has a charging station for electric vehicles but they're not specifically made for Tesla. At this point, I'm not sure if it's just a power outlet or an actual special charger.
Do I need to buy something to charge my Model 3? Does Model 3 LR come with a charging adapter?

Also when i'm on the roads, and can't find a supercharger nearby, what adapter should I always have in my car for emergency?

I apologize for such a noob question but it's my first time owning an electric vehicle so I'm a bit confused.
My condo has a charging station for electric vehicles but they're not specifically made for Tesla. At this point, I'm not sure if it's just a power outlet or an actual special charger.
Do I need to buy something to charge my Model 3? Does Model 3 LR come with a charging adapter?

Also when i'm on the roads, and can't find a supercharger nearby, what adapter should I always have in my car for emergency?

Its pretty normal to be confused in this situation, so dont worry too much about it.

For us to tell you definitively what you might need as far as your condo charging situation, you could take a picture of it and post it. Thats probably not necessary though, as long as its a "EV wall connector for regular EVs", we can make an educated guess.

Non Tesla EVs in the US typically use a standard called J1772. Its different than Teslas proprietary connector, but every model 3 comes with an adapter to adapt a j1772 adapter to the tesla one needed to charge your car.