Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Electrician installed wall connector using Romex 8/3 + 60A breaker

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I am by no means an electrician but a licensed electrician just installed my Wall Connector using Romex 8/3 and a 60A breaker for a 40ft run. I believe a 60A breaker should use at least Romex 6/3. I realized this after he had left, and just called him back to come rectify. He tried to convince me that because the wall connector draws only 48A, I should be good.

I insisted he come swap it out for a 6 gauge cable, as specified in the Tesla installation guide. Am I wrong?

• Funny
Reactions: Rocky_H
Do yourself a favor and have it permitted and inspected. Obviously, the electrician didn't bother with that little detail, either. I wouldn't trust ANYTHING he did or told you at this point.
Ugh. Yeah, I'm worried about that now. I'd hate to be out $750. Either I ask him to pull a permit, or count my losses and just go with one of Tesla's recommended electricians and be out $750.

Reactions: howardnj
Ugh. Yeah, I'm worried about that now. I'd hate to be out $750. Either I ask him to pull a permit, or count my losses and just go with one of Tesla's recommended electricians and be out $750.
You might be able to pull the permit yourself. Depends on your jurisdiction. I think you have to give him a chance to fix it at this point, just make sure someone besides him inspects the work.

Of course if he gives you any more guff, demand a full refund and have it done right by someone else.

You might be able to pull the permit yourself. Depends on your jurisdiction. I think you have to give him a chance to fix it at this point, just make sure someone besides him inspects the work.

Of course if he gives you any more guff, demand a full refund and have it done right by someone else.