Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

gearbox

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Sorry if this was answered elsewhere, I was not able to find it?

Will model S have the same system as the roadster? or will it have a gearbox with - lets say - 2 speeds?

Any information?

I'm no engineer but my roadster is at speed on the highway ( Europe )

- noisy
- Uses a lot of energy

both things the model S would like to omit. As to be successfull in Europe it needs to be a miles cruncher at Autobahn-speed.
So may be a gearbox would help there?

I am quite sure the Model S will also use a single speed and this is a good thing.

The highway noise of the Roadster is entirely due to road and wind noise. The noise of the motor revving is almost unnoticeable.
The car was designed with very little attention to road and wind noise. The Lotus Elise it is based on is a no-compromise, no-frills race car. There is no significant sound proofing until the 2.5 models and they have tried to improve it as best they can without a redesign.

I am very confident that the Model S is being designed from the ground up as a luxury car and they will seal the noise out.

The energy use of the motor is very efficient across the entire RPM range ( probably better than 90% efficient of turning electrical energy into motive force across the usable range )
Energy use increases with the square of speed, there is no getting around that. The faster you want to go the more energy you will use.

I am not an engineer either so someone correct me if this is wrong:

The reason you believe that changing the gear ratio and lowering the RPM of the electric motor will be more efficient is because ICEs are have wildly varying efficiency across their RPM range. At any certain speed you can pick a gear to select the RPM you want the motor to turn.
This choice gets you a certain efficiency and available torque.