Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Gen 3 vs 2 vs mobile charger

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I am looking at charging option for MX. wall charger gen 3 is still sold out on Tesla website. I found gen 2 Wall charger from a local person. So debating on what the best option is. I am new to Tesla. For charging option I am comparing putting in 240 volt outlet vs getting a wall charger. I am finding gen 2 charger isn’t that cheap yet either compared to gen 3. Any advise will be much appreciated.

The Gen2 is fine, arguably better then the the Gen3, since it can go to 80 amps and is not fraught with software issues. But that probably doesn't make much difference. I would think you could save a few $ depending on what you can negotiate. Stay away from the Gen. I have two of them set up as shared on a 60 amp circuit (and a third in the box). I rarely use my mobile connector, so it is always in the car.

Reactions: Fiver
My MX does not have 72 amp support. It is only capable of 48 amp.
How much would it be a good deal for Gen 2. Local guy is asking 450 which I think is too much given gen 3 is 500

Maybe, but you can’t get the gen 3 (probably due to the problems it has). The gen 2 was also 500 IIRC, so anything under that is not really unfair. Especially if it is new in the box. I think I paid 750 for my first gen 1. (Tesla swapped me a gen 2 for free, when the gen1 did not work w my X). If I needed it, I’d pay 450 for it, unless it is used. Yeah, I’d like to pay less, but you can get it today, and probably w no sales tax.

I got a gen 2 for my MX because the charging cable is 24’ . The 18’ on the gen 3 was too short for my setup. That is another difference to consider. The gen 2 works fine for me. If you can get it at a reduced price like $450, I think that is a good deal. At the time I bought mine, I had to pay over $500 to get one.

• Disagree
Reactions: pilotSteve