So today I get to be one of those poor Texas Tesla drivers living with the results of the Texas Auto Lobby's political influence: I got pulled over by Fort Worth PD for "not driving a legally registered car", because I did not have the usual traditional Texas “dealer plates” displayed on my new Model S. The officer even snarked that "any dealership should have given you dealer plates". Hrmmmm..... The officer didn’t even bother to entertain my Tesla sticker in my rear window, continaing the early registration documentation on paper (still awaiting plates which I think arrive this week). He pretended to lean over and glance at it and said it’s “not large enough, I couldn’t even see that with binoculars” — so he cited me for “No License plate - Registration”. He said I’m supposed to have the usual red-text “dealer plates prominently displayed on the car", and he claimed that he could not find valid registration info under my name or the car VIN within whatever database they use for searching for this info — so I’m apparently in violation of the law or something. I completely disagree and reached out to my Tesla advisor about it. As he handed me the ticket I did try to also show him my car’s inspection paperwork that I have, which at least is an indication that the car is legal in Texas - unless you're going to completely ignore that along with the sticker in the window. He told me “that’s irrelevant, you could inspect a golf cart” — to which I started to ask him, “even golf carts that can do 0-60 in 5 seconds and pass most cars like they are standing still?”, but I thought better of it as the officer’s demeanor indicated he might might not enjoy a joke. Anyway, I don't understand why 3 weeks in he cannot yet see my car in their registration database Fort Worth PD searches? I’m looking at the info on the registration sticker Tesla put in my car's window, that and it looks fine to me... and I drive past tons of Richardson and Dallas PD every single day, and nothing. But now I am to appear in Fort Worth traffic court within 11 days, and provide proof of registration. Is this something Texas new owners run into often? I don’t want Fort Worth to throw some phony fine at me for simply driving my legally purchased (and soon to be registered) car.