Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

SOC vs Charge rate

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I am somewhat new to the world of charging and range anxiety so please be gentle with your response. :cool:

As I understand it, as the batteries reach a higher SOC the charge rate decreases. This is done to prevent over charging and overheating. I assume that the charge rate is relatively flat for most of the charge, and then dropping at some point. What I am trying to determine is at what SOC does the charge rate begin to drop? I am asking that so that I can plan trips where I utilize the Fast Chargers most efficiently (IE for shortest amount of time). For around town and charging at home I have the max set to 75%. For trips I am planning on starting at 100% and then at the Fast Chargers, charge them to the knee of the curve. This should minimize the stops while also minimizing the amount of time at the chargers.

I understand that there are tools that do some of this but I would like to get a better understanding of the process before I turn the job over to the software.

Pointers?

Thanks.

The curve isn't flat as far as I can see. I've just done a shortish road trip last week and super charged as we went.

Here I charged from 26% to 63% in 13 min and you can see the curve isn't flat and doesn't have a elbow/hockey stick change. The charge rate also depends on many factors (temperature, SOC, etc.) so no two curves would look the same.

IMG_1380.PNG