Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Temporary outdoor charging solution - advice needed

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Let me start off by saying that I am actively looking for a new place to live. Unfortunately I've been saying that same statement for many months now and still have not found a house that I like. But I know I want to move and so I don't necessarily want to put in a permanent outdoor charging setup...or maybe i do.

It looks like I have three options for charging the Tesla outside in the driveway of the house that I have now (there is no garage and no room to build one either). 1) Just use the 110v outlet that is already located outside and trickle juice back into the car overnight (probably taking all night) and deal with that till I move. 2) Put in a NEMA 14-50 on the outside of the house. The house is vinyl sided though, so that will likely pose some issues getting a big outlet to look good on the side of the house. 3) Install a HPWC temporarily and then take it with me when I move.

#1 might work as my daily commune is not that many miles (only about 30)...but it certainly feels inconvenient and would probably make it feel like I really could not drive the car for very long distances in a single day. The nearest Supercharger to me is about 40 miles one-way away...so that's not that convenient either.

#2 could be fine and I'd just leave all the stuff behind and it would become a new selling feature of the house. But with the vinyl siding it would probably get a little more expensive to have to cut around all that stuff to get the box to sit flush on the house. Not sure if I'd need a GFCI breaker though seeing as how this is all outside exposed to the elements (in Michigan)...and if I did then that might push me to go with option #3.