Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Tesla Milk Float when reversing

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
When I drive forward my Tesla's motors are inaudible, but when I reverse it sounds like a 1970's electric milk float. I'm assuming mine isn't unique. Does anyone know why? Is it mechanical or a synthetic sound as a warning to pedestrians, etc?
I thought I read you could change that sound in the Boombox settings (it's not a feature of older cars so I've no direct experience.)

The Pedestrian Warning System (if equipped) causes Model 3 to emit sound when driving below approximately 33 km/h (21 mph) or while driving in reverse. Electric vehicles operate quietly and this sound helps to alert pedestrians of your oncoming vehicle. The sound, which activates whenever Model 3 is shifted out of Park, gets louder as speed increases.

Reactions: Skavatar and Js1977
Just curious...

Has anyone ever run across a report of a silent EV hitting a pedestrian in one of these fabled sub-21 mph scenarios?

The first modification I made to my John Deere tractor was to disconnect that annoying backup beeper. The second modification was to bypass the weight sensor in the seat that prevented the tractor from being used with no weight on the seat. Sometimes you just have to stand up to see where you're going and what the bucket is doing.

Reactions: Obie and MitchMitch
I've looked on my 3 month old MY and can't see any option to change the sound. It would be nice to change to something like a reverse beep than the currect UFO.
Oh please don’t! The UFO type (white noise) sound is proven to only be annoying for short distances…. The beep sound travels for a large distance and annoys people way beyond the danger range!