TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

USB/Power Socket - Not Always On

Discussion in 'Model S: Interior & Exterior' started by Vince Cobelo, Jan 14, 2016.

  1. Vince Cobelo

    Vince Cobelo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Palmetto, FL
    If there is one thing that irritates the hell out of me it's that the usb's and power socket aren't always on. Why the heck would they turn off with the car and stop charging a phone. It sure isn't going to kill a battery putting out only 1-2 amps.

    Tried doing a search but can't find any modification thread for this. Has anyone modified any of their ports to be always on? If so, where did you connect to power? I did it in my truck to the two power sockets with no problems.
     
  2. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,023
    Newer VIN constant 12v power options (dashcam)?

    There is a connector that you could use to swap in a +5V supply of your own choosing just behind the touchscreen, I believe in the panel at the passenger footwell. There are more threads around here. The thread posted above talks about where to find constant +12V. I can't find the thread I was thinking of where it was discussed adding a better power supply, but I'm sure someone else might remember.
     
    • Love x 1
  3. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9,680
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Not sure about the USB ports, but there was also a thread showing where to find the relay for the 12v socket in the fuse panel and how you could pop it out and install a jumper so it stays on all the time.
     
  4. HankLloydRight

    HankLloydRight Fluxing

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    10,145
    Location:
    Connecticut
    As mentioned in the other thread, the OBDII port offers constant +12v without splicing.
     
  5. Vince Cobelo

    Vince Cobelo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Palmetto, FL
    I'd like to find that thread.
     
  6. trils0n

    trils0n 2013 P85

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,482
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Here it is, with pictures.
     
  7. Vince Cobelo

    Vince Cobelo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Palmetto, FL
    BEAUTIFUL! Thank you Thank you Thank you.
     
  8. Tree95

    Tree95 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Usa
    You're welcome.
     
  9. tliving

    tliving Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    New England, USA
    If you want to use the ODBII connector for permanent 12V power you can hack together a cable that does just that. Just need to pick the correct 2 wires which is pretty easy. My hack job looked like this:
    img_4036.jpg
    The parts cost $18 and it took about 5 mins to cut the ends and solder the wires. Not a permanent modification to the Model S, just plugs into the ODBII. I use it for my dash cam.
     
  10. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9,680
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Nice, but how many amps can the OBD II port deliver and is it fused anywhere? I would probably want to throw an in-line fuse into that assembly if it were me.
     
  11. Tree95

    Tree95 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Usa
    Yes, it is fused. See owner's manual for location and size. 5A rings a bell, but it's been a while since I looked.
     
  12. Vince Cobelo

    Vince Cobelo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Palmetto, FL
    This is a very old post and was very helpful at the time. I did the jumper and it works perfect. But I bought a vent mounted wireless charger for my phone and had to run the cord across the bowling alley and up the display tucking it behind the leather wrap around. Not a very clean look for sure. So I came back to this old thread and was going to try the OBD II solution proposed here but when I went online to find a adapter I decided to look for a ready made solution and found this....

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0711FXDCZ/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Looks ready made and should work. I'll install it once delivered and see if any modifications need to be made.
     
  13. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,763
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    About a year ago I pulled out the relay and installed a jumper. So power is now always on. This is important not only for charging my phone, but also keeping the Echo Dot on so I can interact with it when the car is sitting still.

    This is a very simple fix and much easier than tapping the OBD2 port.
     
  14. Naonak

    Naonak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    662
    Location:
    Kansas
    What on earth do you do with a dot in a car? I barely have uses for it in a house...
     
    • Funny x 1
  15. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,763
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    Only for music. Just call out something I want to hear and it plays it. It's incredibly accurate. With bluetooth connected it plays through the car's sound system (in my case a Reus upgrade).
     
  16. Naonak

    Naonak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    662
    Location:
    Kansas
    Do you have a hotspot in your car? That may be the thing I'm missing from this equation.

    Amazon Music is pretty lacking, or at least was last time I checked. I wish I could hook it up to my Google Music.
     
  17. Vince Cobelo

    Vince Cobelo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Palmetto, FL
    Yea....why have a Dot? Just use your phone and say "OK Google" play whatever and it will play over the car stereo. I use Amazon Music as the default music player and works great every time.

    I want to use the OBD port to power my wireless charger without running a wire across. I did the jumper thing and they aux port is always on but I don't like visible wires.
     
  18. Vince Cobelo

    Vince Cobelo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Palmetto, FL
    Update: Works perfectly. No modifications.
     
  19. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,763
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    For lots of reasons. I can turn the lights on and off in my house, adjust the termostat, send text messages by voice, and do all other kinds of things from my car,
     
  20. Vince Cobelo

    Vince Cobelo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Palmetto, FL
    That question is probably better asked in another thread where people will pay more attention but I would say the reason is to control those functions you need a app. Apps can't be loaded on the Tesla browser. That said you could check your messages but it would have to be a browser based site. Like your provider. Test messages can be sent/received/viewed from directly on you mobile providers website. Try that.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC