TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

What does this do? (holding "T")

Discussion in 'Model S: Driving Dynamics' started by silverp85+, Apr 11, 2016.

  1. silverp85+

    silverp85+ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    New York
    [​IMG] I held down the T on top of main screen until the password screen came up. I typed in performance instead of 007.

    sorry can't edit title to "what does this do"
     
    • Love x 1
  2. byan1232

    byan1232 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    New York, NY
    Whoa, is this a new update? Let me check when I get into my car later today.
     
  3. strider

    strider Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,918
    Location:
    NE Oklahoma
    Looks like a way to simulate other models performance characteristics.
     
  4. AudubonB

    AudubonB Mild-mannered Moderator Lord Vetinari*

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,236
    Location:
    Denali Highway, Alaska
    OOoooh, new thingies!

    I could emulate your finding; like you I couldn't find where or how it altered the vehicle. I did discover it appears you can have any two of the three choices retain the green check mark.

    Paging wk057.....Come in, please.
     
  5. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    I hope they don't lock this down now. :(
     
  6. Chasedrgc1223

    Chasedrgc1223 Nearly Insane

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    NJ
    Whoa this is really cool...
     
  7. pdxrunr

    pdxrunr Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Lake Oswego, OR
    The feature is mainly used by sales associates to "downgrade" a car to make it perform like the one you may order. When I did test drives a few weeks ago, I was wanting to drive a 70D and they only had a 90D, so they did this and it changes the power output to that of a 70D. Not sure why an owner would want to do it, but it's there if you know the code.
     
  8. Chasedrgc1223

    Chasedrgc1223 Nearly Insane

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    NJ
    Does this only work on the Performance models? Tried it on my 85D and nothing.
     
  9. murphyS85

    murphyS85 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Horsham, PA
    It works on my 90D. Did you enter it in all lower case?
     
  10. Chasedrgc1223

    Chasedrgc1223 Nearly Insane

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    NJ
    I'm pretty sure I did. That's so strange it's not working.
     
  11. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    Works on P85D.
     
  12. Chasedrgc1223

    Chasedrgc1223 Nearly Insane

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    NJ
    Also, I'm on 2.16.17 so maybe that has something to do with it?
     
  13. bobjustbob

    bobjustbob Elon Musk takes all my money

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Cumming, GA
    When I did my test drive the sales associated performed this "trick" to make the 90D we were driving perform like a 70.
     
    • Like x 1
  14. Kalud

    Kalud Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Confirmed to work on my Classic P85. Pretty cool!
     
  15. whitecotton

    whitecotton Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Worked for me!
     
  16. ZBB

    ZBB Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,417
    Location:
    Scottsdale
    Doesn't work on my Classic 60

    Would be nice if Tesla gave us an Easter Egg… No 007 for me (no air suspension…), No Rainbow Road...
     
  17. Chasedrgc1223

    Chasedrgc1223 Nearly Insane

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    NJ
    What version were you on?
     
  18. Tslacg

    Tslacg Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Oklahoma city
    If a 90d owner were to emulate the performance of their car to a 70d, will this increase range any past your typical 90d range? Since theoretically the power output is limited?

    Would be interested for a back to back wh/hr usage rate on the same route.
     
    • Like x 1
  19. Kalud

    Kalud Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    It would be hard for your car to emulate the 70 / 90 performance ;)

    You still have the "First Model S team" Easter egg
     
  20. ZBB

    ZBB Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,417
    Location:
    Scottsdale
    But I could emulate a 40!
     
    • Funny x 5
    • Like x 1

Share This Page