TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Best Dash Cams For Your Model S?

Discussion in 'Hong Kong' started by lx3h, Apr 23, 2014.

Tags:
  1. jkhfung

    jkhfung Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Hi Luckylao, thanks for the encouragement and I think I will give it a try. You mentioned the connection should not be routed through the fuse box, so direct connection to the battery terminals would be your recommendation ? thanks for the guidance.
     
  2. luckylao

    luckylao Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    HK
    You welcome. Just plug the power cord (comes with the dash cams) into the 12V socket next to the USB port will do.
     
  3. jkhfung

    jkhfung Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Hi Luckylao,

    I plan to install the Magic Pro so I can enable the Surveillance function of the BlackVue 650. I was told the power of the 12V socket will get terminated once the car is locked so the purpose of the Magic Pro device will provide continuous flow of power to the dash cam unit. (User may customise the power setting so it will not completely drain the aux battery pack). Is your surveillance function enabled for your unit?
     
  4. luckylao

    luckylao Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    HK
    Hi there,

    I did not purchase the magic pro exactly because of that. You are right that to enable the surveillance function when no one is in the car, you need to extract power not from the 12V plug but directly from the battery. It may involve connection to the fuse box - an area I dare not touch.
     
  5. jkhfung

    jkhfung Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Got it. Thanks for the pointers.
     
  6. HankLloydRight

    HankLloydRight No Roads

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    11,498
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Guys - no need to tap the fuse box, or use switched power plug in the cabin. I've now installed two different dash cams using the OBDII port which provides constant +12v power for my dashcam and also the front camera kit. Both of these draw very little power, so I'm confident that they won't drain the aux battery down unless left unattended for weeks.

    See my detailed thread here: Yet another hardwired Dashcam install -- 100% reversible/no splicing/no tapping

    I've since removed that dashcam and harness and installed a LUKAS DUO 5900 dashcam using the same method (but without the step-down transformer, since the LUKAS runs on +12v). I simply wired the OBDII port with an inline fuse to a wire that runs up the A pilar, across the headliner to the dashcam. I also installed a simple toggle switch that is tucked up next to the OBDII port, so I can cut the power to the dashcam and the front camera if I'm leaving the car parked for any more than a week or so.

    I may be selling everything you see in that thread above, including the dashcam and the full wiring harness since I replaced it with the LUKAS, if anyone is interested in a pre-wired harness and dashcam ready to install.

    Link to LUKAS dashcam: LUKAS LK-5900HD DUO Dash Cam 2CH Car Black Box
     
  7. luckylao

    luckylao Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    HK
    hi HankLloydRight- read your 10 steps and it is brilliant! Thanks for the advice. So if I have the pre-wired harness, I may chop off the existing 12V power adapter, get it connected to the pre-wired harness and then plug in the ODBII plug on the other end will do, right?
     
  8. Alipapa

    Alipapa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I have a similar device like the magic pro hooked up to my cam. That's why i need to run the wire from the fuse box and battery. Funny thing is that since our car doesn't need a starter to start the engine, the 12v battery output is so flat that the magic pro wont switch back to ignited mode 2 mins after the car has been moving.
     
  9. HankLloydRight

    HankLloydRight No Roads

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    11,498
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Thanks!

    Yes, that's correct. I cut off the 12V cigarette adapter and connected the power wires to the harness to the OBDII port. Make sure you get the polarities correct!
     
  10. The Fury

    The Fury Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    DFW - Texas
    Hello Hank, I followed your method but stopped at the part of lining up the correct ends of the positive wires with each other on the OBDII port. I believe you cut them at an angle and found the correct side by trial and error. Those wires are very thin.. Any other way to get the right side connected without a meter?
     
  11. HankLloydRight

    HankLloydRight No Roads

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    11,498
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Hmm.. I'm not sure what you're asking exactly..but having some sort of continuity meter is essential. A generic volt meter is pretty inexpensive (less than $15US), and it's pretty essential for projects like this.
     
  12. markwj

    markwj Moderator, Asia Pacific

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,262
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    To do something like this, you really need a meter. It will give you a double-check that everything is as expected.

    That said, here's the OBDII pinout:

    OBD II diagnostic interface pinout diagram @ pinoutsguide.com
     
  13. HankLloydRight

    HankLloydRight No Roads

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    11,498
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I posted the pin out in my original thread and identified the appropriate pins. The problem is finding which bare leads connect to the +12v pin #16 and the ground pins (4 or 5). Every cable is different, there's no standard for wire color in these cables, and in fact, the first OBD cable I used was just a black ribbon cable with no markings at all for which wire led to which OBD pin. So that's the part I had to do trial-and-error.
     
  14. BlueTan85

    BlueTan85 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    339
    Location:
    Earth
    This is a great thread and I'm inspired and excited by all the solutions available for dashcams.

    BUT it's not what I want for my Tesla. What I want is as follows:

    • System embedded deep in the car a la aviation "black box"
    • Four cameras, minimum: one mounted forward, one mounted left, one mounted right, one mounted back.
    • All mounts seamless and unobtrusive.
    • All 4 cameras capable of optionally being always on, 24/7, always recording. But by default, would turn off when car turned off.
    • Full 1920x1080p resolution 30fps HD video with GPS data, timestamp data, perhaps other annotation data recorded.
    • Multi-terabyte storage (laptop-style mini HD, or solid state) so you basically don't care. This thing is always on, records for days/weeks before recycling.
    • Mobile/desktop apps to interact with this system, copy/delete/backup data.
    • Minimal power drain on car's battery. Or, system gets its own battery if need be.

    My preference would be for Tesla, not a 3rd party, to offer this as a "Video Package" with full factory and service center support. But that's unlikely. Or is it?
     
  15. luckylao

    luckylao Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    HK
    Hellow Hank, you mentioned in your original thread you would use a better OBDII cable on the hindsight; does this better OBDII cable have proper markings to make thing easier?
     
  16. Zroiron

    Zroiron Poodle Pack Leader

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I had the Blackvue DR550 installed a couple of months ago! Love it! Power is fed from the glove box light power supply. Records in parking mode for front and rear cameras and resolution is more than acceptable for me. We had a local high end European repair shop do the install, since Tesla Service Centers will not touch it with a 10 ft pole!!
     
  17. HankLloydRight

    HankLloydRight No Roads

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    11,498
    Location:
    Connecticut
    No the other OBD cable had no markings to id the wires. I think the *12v wire was brown.
     
  18. JohnxII

    JohnxII Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Am deciding between Cowon AW series and Papago! GoSafe WiFi. Both are WiFi ready (for streaming/viewing on your mobile devices). Cowon is better on the form factor but GoSafe has built-in IP cam mode! Anyone had any experiences regarding these 2 brands?
     
  19. lx3h

    lx3h Charged.hk's Director of Education

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,331
    Location:
    Hong Kong SAR China
    #99 lx3h, Sep 4, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 13, 2016
    GoSafe 310 video from http://www.discuss.com.hk/viewthread.php?tid=22122306&page=1:

     
  20. fyw709

    fyw709 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    HK

    Zroiron, can you take some pics for HK owner as ref?

    I have a few units of DR550 on hand and willing to sell to Tesla owner with very attractive price. For HK testla owner who wants to purchase, pls send me pm for price.

    I don't own a Tesla and hope the owner can take me for a free ride =)
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC