Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Brakes - Brembo, others

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Aren't the "P" Model Ss already equipped with Brembos? Thought I heard that somewhere. . .

I'll E-Mail tesla and see, although I'm not an expert in brakes, it seems like brembos should be a bit more... Violent. For instance, if I were to slam on the brakes at 100 km/h, the braking distance is 108ft (close to that), and with Brembos I would expect a lower braking distance.

Anyway, have any other brakes worked better for anyone?

I'll E-Mail tesla and see, although I'm not an expert in brakes, it seems like brembos should be a bit more... Violent. For instance, if I were to slam on the brakes at 100 km/h, the braking distance is 108ft (close to that), and with Brembos I would expect a lower braking distance.

Anyway, have any other brakes worked better for anyone?
108 ft for an ~2100 kg car is very short.

You can get the Brembo ceramic brakes for $16K.

The standard brakes on the Model S are Brembo.
Indeed. All Model S get Brembo calipers and pads.

So it's not really a quality problem. You just need bigger/stronger to get what you're looking for, not simply a brand switch.

Brembo pads are kind of known for their lack of initial bite, though they make up for it once heated. Perhaps that's what you're sensing? Might be cheaper to try different pads first before replacing the whole system.

These monster Brembo (for Teslas) 6-piston, mono bloc, aluminum hat, nearly 15 inch fronts on EBay ought to detach your retinas :cool:

image.jpeg

Hello, just wondered if any other owners bought aftermarket brakes like Brembo or other ones that work better then the stock ones.. I have a lot of trouble stopping the two ton beast after launches (of course) and want to know if anybody else has had luck with other brands.

Thanks!

Sounds like something is wrong with your car.