Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Breaking down the excessive rear, inner tire wear

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

ngng

Jul 23, 2018
Bay Area
I had a bunch of warranty work done at the dealer, some of which included replacement parts for the shudder. The entire front end of the car was apart. After I picked the car up I noticed that it was pulling right and immediately suspected an improper alignment (or, in this case...no alignment). Figured this would be a good time to post my thoughts on the topic of tire wear since everybody seems concerns, but nobody really seems to understand what's going on.

I am not an alignment expert by any means, but I routinely align my race cars within 1/16" so I have a basic understanding of what's going on.

If you look at the before measurements there are a handful of callouts: camber, caster, toe. You can Google all these for more info, but the high level:
- camber is the wheel's angle looking at it from the front/back of car, camber is generally negative (leaning in towards the centerline)
- caster involves only the front, steering end of the car. I generally think of it as the angle between the centerline of the upper and lower ball joints. It is responsible for the "self-centering" effect when you are driving: in a high perf car, if you're sliding the rear and let go of the wheel and it recenters; or if you're making a turn out of a parking lot and let go of the wheel and it recenters/unwinds. You want both sides to have similar, positive caster
- toe is the angle, viewed top down that the tire is rotated inwards (negative) or outwards (positive)

These values are all related. First you set camber, then caster, and finally toe.

c3bfd8b60dcdf97b04c2679367b3c2e2.png

Let's ignore the before measurements since they are absolutely terrible.