TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Does sentry and dashcam record on AP2 and MCU1?

Discussion in 'Model X' started by LukasSwan, Nov 3, 2019.

  1. LukasSwan

    LukasSwan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Halifax
    Hi
    Does it record on V10 yet?
    I've not stuck a USB drive in and am hoping someone has had success?
     
  2. blee321

    blee321 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Stony Brook NY
    Did you just wake up?
     
    • Funny x 3
    • Disagree x 1
  3. PARNY

    PARNY Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Roslyn, NY
    It works fine.
     
    • Funny x 2
  4. Xminus6

    Xminus6 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    683
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    I never read anything about those features being included for our cars. I think it was more of a hardware limitation than software.
     
  5. Yinn

    Yinn Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Behind you
    I've had my USB drive in the slot and ready since the day it was launched. I'll ping you when it starts working; don't hold your breath
     
  6. Jillmark99

    Jillmark99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    Ontario
    No it doesn’t.
     
    • Like x 2
  7. DriverOne

    DriverOne Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    AP2 sadly still doesn't (and perhaps never will) offer USB support. You need AP2.5 or later.

    Anyone know if getting the AP3 hardware upgrade makes USB recording start working? The cameras could output a funny color, be great even if they convert it to black&white.
     
  8. Yinn

    Yinn Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Behind you
    The cameras themselves are different on AP2 cars as well. The FSD upgrade only upgrades the MCU; which from what I've heard so far isn't compatable with AP2 cars. It's looking more and more that AP2 will be "feature-complete" for FSD via software instead of hardware. There are things that we don't have on AP2s (ie dash cam, sentry recording) but FSD specific features have been available w/o AP2.5 or AP3.0 hardware. (ie, smart summon, navigate on autopilot)
     
    • Informative x 2
  9. teethdood

    teethdood Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    Visalia, California
    The FSD upgrade does not upgrade the MCU (which has its own computer), although that would be nice! The FSD upgrade is for the AP3 computer only. If you want Dash cam and sentry, you need not only a new MCU2 (touch screen+computer) but also new cameras and new wiring, and that's not going to happen according to Elon.
     
    • Like x 1
    • Disagree x 1
  10. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,734
    Location:
    TN
    don't need mcu2 for dashcam and sentry mode.

    in fact sentry mode works on hw2.0 even, it jsut does not record any videos but you still get the "events happened" that you can then check on your 3rd party dashcam you have no doubts installed long ago anyway
     
    • Like x 2
    • Informative x 1
  11. Krazaak

    Krazaak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    870
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #11 Krazaak, Nov 5, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2019
    My understanding is that not only does Sentry Mode work as your describe, it also activates switched power, so even people who've installed an aftermarket dash cam without parking mode might get video of an event if it boots fast enough.
     
  12. Yinn

    Yinn Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Behind you
    I can confirm this, I have a front facing dash cam on my AP2. When Sentry kicks on, it activates the 12v in the mirror so it will record.

    Nobody is arguing that base functionality can one achieved; but the reality is that you'll spend almost $1000 if you want the same coverage that comes with the Model X's rolling off the line. Not to mention it won't have a clean integrated look. One could argue that you could buy a seat heater kit, rip apart the rear seats and install heated seats if you didn't have the subzero package. Would work? Yes. But it wouldn't be the same
     
  13. Krazaak

    Krazaak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    870
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Yeah, but let's face it. Nobody ever said every Tesla would get every future feature. Sure, it'd be nice, but even my 2016 AP2 Model X has improved through OTA updates than any other car I've owned, even without dash cam, full sentry functionality, theater and advanced games. It's been perfectly clear since Tesla first added AP1 to the Model S that some future features were going to be hardware dependent.
     
    • Like x 2
  14. Yinn

    Yinn Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Behind you
    I never said they would... if you scroll up, you’ll see I said don’t hold your breathe on the dash cam. As well as stating that FSD on AP2 MCU1 will most likely be feature complete via software.

    But let’s not fool anyone. There’s workarounds but it’s not going to be the same.

    There’s a reason I’ve owned four of these. These things are the equivalent of phones. Not obsolete, but every year will be a minor update and every two will be a major one.

    I’m just being honest. You can buy the latest phone which will be waterproof, or you can buy a waterproof case. Both will be waterproof, but they’re definitely not equal.
     
    • Like x 2
  15. VikH

    VikH Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    True! Tesla keeps making the current cars better. I was really hoping for the full regen to stop function, but looks like its only for Ravens. Another reason to upgrade.
     
  16. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,734
    Location:
    TN
    this is correct and even more, there's no booting involved, the aux power is on as long as sentry mode is on so the 3rd party dashcam remains powered all the time and would catch all events if it's pointed in the right directions.
     
    • Informative x 1
  17. arcus

    arcus Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,294
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    The aux power (in mic grill area) is on all the time. I've had dashcam connected to it and recording for 2+ years now:

     
    • Informative x 1
  18. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,734
    Location:
    TN
    on the other hand another common source in the rearview mirror assembly is not always on and those cams are super popular because they are super easy to install (esp on the X)
     
  19. LukasSwan

    LukasSwan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Halifax
    How can we have full self driving on AP2 if it cannot stop all the way? I doubt this is a Raven thing really.
     
  20. hly

    hly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    NJ
    Older Teslas stop all the way all the time in autopilot in traffic jams. By using the physical brakes.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC