Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

forgot to order via referral code

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hey gang,

I've only purchased used Teslas before but I decided to go ahead and put a deposit down on a Y a few days ago. I ordered it through the website like a total noob and didn't use my own referral code via the app. I thought there would be a place to put my referral code when I ordered but after clicking the "buy" button I realized there was no field to enter a referral code.

So now the question is, do I cancel my current order and order again with my referral code? I'd be out the $250 deposit but it sounds like they are offering $500 off and 3 months of free FSD (which I'm not dying to have but wouldn't say no to 3 free months).

You need to call Tesla or go in person to Tesla. Sometimes they will add the referral. Sometimes not. But do it quickly. Worst case, you lose the $250 and make it a do over. Good Luck
I texted the rep at the local service center near me and all he said that the referral code cannot be added retroactively and said I was more than welcome to cancel the order and reorder if I wanted. If I talk to someone else there's a chance they add my own referral code?

I am going to remind people that TMC does not allow "Here is my referral code, use that" and DEFINITELY does not allow "I will pay someone to use my referral code".

The first will get a warning, the second will get a regular member temp banned for some amount of time, and a new account terminated completely.

Reactions: RajG and vickh