Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Future proof charger install?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
This has also been rattling around in my brain for a while now. Finding a HPWC Gen 2 on eBay seems like the best option, as it can do up to 80 amps. My charger/outlet is only 4' from the breaker, so redoing wiring isn't hard. I've been rocking a NEMA 14-50 since 2015, when my original Model S could pull 40 amps and be happy all day. (My car could do 80, but 40 always met my needs).

Anyway With the big-bad-ass (200?) kWh battery of the cybertruck, I'm not sure the wimpy 32 amp of my UMCGen2 will cut it.

So, the 'fixed' NEMA 14-50 that can do 40 is nice, and solid price, if not always sold out.

But, Gen 3 HPWC is stuck at 48 amps... and I'm thinking a big ass battery deserves a big ass charger. So.. will Tesla stick with 48A for home charging, or swing for the fences, and then sell a Gen4 or CyberTruck branded HWPC, or even a bidirectional option?

I hate waiting, and have looked for options, but I'm thinking the best thing, for me at least, is sit tight. Get the truck, see if 32 amps meets my needs, and if not, evaluate options at that time. Anything else would be potentially wasting $ and time.
I think the reason for most things being 48amp is that’s fed from a 60 amp breaker. And anything fed from >60amp breaker has to have a local shut off switch. Just another hurdle but it can be done.

My bet is that the CT will come out coincident with a new type of Evse that will self isolate and back feed your house.

But, Gen 3 HPWC is stuck at 48 amps... and I'm thinking a big ass battery deserves a big ass charger. So.. will Tesla stick with 48A for home charging, or swing for the fences, and then sell a Gen4 or CyberTruck branded HWPC, or even a bidirectional option?