TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

High Wh/mi in city driving

Discussion in 'Model X: Battery & Charging' started by Rove, Jul 31, 2016.

1. Rove

Rove Member

Got a question. What is your average Wh/mi driving in city stop and go traffic. Mine seems really high (mid 500's to high 500's). Just got the car 4 days ago and I'm curious. I'm not really stepping on it either.

2. TaoJones

TaoJones Beyond Driven

When a lot of time is spent in the car but not moving and then with the AC on, for example during a long conference call on the side of the road, Wh/mi will appear higher.

3. Rove

Rove Member

In my case,i am moving. I'm new to electric cars which is why I'm asking if such a high Wh/mile is normal

4. ArtInCT

ArtInCT Always Learning

How many miles is your typical city trip?

5. Rove

Rove Member

pretty local- I would say 5-10 miles per trip.

6. ptsagcy

ptsagcy Member

It's been really hot in NYC lately and the A/C takes a lot of power to initially cool the car down. On longer trips the Wh/Mi will come down as you drive. Two suggestions: pre-cool the car while it is plugged in, before you drive; and turn off the rear a/c if you don't have passengers in the third row. It doesn't affect the 2nd row.(There is a separate a/c unit for the third row)

7. Rove

Rove Member

I'll give it a try. Thanks.

8. umeshunni

umeshunni Member

I did 3 drives within San Francisco this morning on city streets and here are my stats along with a comparison to 3 longer distance freeway drives later in the evening.

(note that SF is very hilly and we live in a valley within the city and need to drive over hills both ways)

3 miles @388.5 Wh/mi (home to car wash) downhill but with lots of stops and turns
    2.3 miles @642.1 Wh/mi (car wash to home) uphill in relatively clear city traffic