Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Home charger not delivering full 30/mi/hr charge

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I recently installed a new home tesla charger with a 240v. Using a 14-50 to deliver. When I plugged my car in it went from the 80a to 12a max and is only charging 8/mph. My electrician checked and it is pulling 240v.

Any ideas whats going on? Its the elon musk black charger.

80A requires a 100A breaker and proper sized wiring. Are you sure that's what you have? You might have a breaker/wire combination that supports less amps but the wall connector is (mis)configured for 80A. Things would heat up and the car would reduce charging. In those older chargers there was a rotary switch to select the max amps the charger should provide.

EDIT: OH! 14-50... That has a max of 50A so you must only pull 40A out of it. Adjust your charger for a max of 40A.

Im not an expert, but what you have typed up there does not make any sense.

"you have a new tesla charger" (assuming wall connector... check)

"using 14-50 to deliver" (this sounds like you have a wall connector that has a 14-50 pigtail on it...)

"when plugged in car went from 80a to 12a.... (so it should not be possible for a 14-50 to deliver 80a at all)

In order for those who are good at this type of thing to help you, you are going to need to provide a lot more information, like

1. What type of "charger" did you install exactly? A Tesla wall connector gen 2? A Tesla wall connector gen 2 with a pigtail that came from tesla (very rare but exists)? A tesla wall connector that someone converted with a 14-50 pigtail? A tesla mobile connector (this wouldnt be "installed" but might be what you are talking about)?

2. What do you mean by "installed with 240v"? What wire size, what breaker did you have installed in the panel for it etc?