Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Post your best "mpg" kWhrs/100k

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I have a theory that the best results can be obtained using N as much as possible. On hills be ready to not exceed posted speed limits by engaging D. Have your cruise ready to rengage at your preferred speed. The results will be more believable over say 100ks. I will post my own tests in the future.

I am not an electrician or an engineer but I would like to put in my two cents worth here.

What is the point of coasting in neutral down a hill to claim a theoretical "better MPG or kWh/100km" when you lose out on your cars range between charges.

The real question is how far can you go per kWh? How much will it cost you to recharge if you need to plug in on the grid?

Why waste your opportunity to claim the real "free charging" for your car by not regenerating your battery while going downhill.

Sure, an 85 or 90 kWh battery pack may get you to your destination with oodles of energy to spare but for those owners with 60 or 70kWh battery packs, not regenerating whilst on the road may mean the difference between making or not making your destination before the battery pack runs out of juice.