TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Remotely Updating Software

Discussion in 'Model X: User Interface' started by Tozla, Jul 13, 2017.

  1. Tozla

    Tozla Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    136
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I'm currently on vacation and got a notification that a software update was available. I don't suppose there is a way to remotely update?
     
  2. Derek Kessler

    Derek Kessler Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    1. Call a trusted friend.
    2. Instruct that friend to go to your car and to call you when they're there.
    3. Wait.
    4. Impatiently text friend.
    5. Wait.
    6. Answer friend's call.
    7. Apologize for the passive-aggressive texts.
    8. Remotely unlock car with the app.
    9. Tell your friend to get into the car.
    10. Tell your friend to tap the "update now" button.
    11. Tell your friend to get out of the car.
    12. Thank your friend for their help.
    13. Promise your friend a beer when you get back.
    14. Remotely lock the car with the app.
    15. Wait.
    16. Impatiently check your phone for the update complete notification.
    17. Wait.
    18. Check phone again.
    19. Crack open a beer and laugh at how you'll still have to wait until you're home to use the update.
    20. Fly home.
    21. Get in car.
    22. Open release notes.
    23. "Bug fixes and tweaks"
     
    • Funny x 11
    • Like x 3
  3. Tozla

    Tozla Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    136
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #3 Tozla, Jul 13, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2017
    I won't start a new thread just for this next question but is there a way to remotely open my garage door to let my friend in? :p

    Also where can I buy a trusted friend?
     
    • Funny x 4
  4. outie

    outie Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    SoCal
    Some of the 3rd party Tesla apps lets you remotely trigger the garage opener.
     
  5. TexasEV

    TexasEV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5,327
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Why would you be concerned about updating while you're on vacation? By the time you get back there will likely be another bug fix. When you get home just let your car update overnight. You won't have missed anything.
     
  6. Derek Kessler

    Derek Kessler Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    Surely somebody must have a key to your house?

    Also, Chamberlain makes a gadget you can use to remotely control any garage door opener: Chamberlain MYQ-G0201 MyQ-Garage Controls Your Garage Door Opener with Your Smartphone - Garage Automation Products - Amazon.com — I've used it when the person checking in on my house while I was on vacation forgot their key.
     
  7. dprisoner

    dprisoner Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Silly-con Valley
    If you have Homelink set up, you can open the door from the Tesla app. Look under "Summon" and then in the upper right corner you should see the Homelink logo (I think it only appears if the car is within the "geofence" of your Homelink profile).
     
  8. Derek Kessler

    Derek Kessler Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    Summon in-app only works when you're nearby.
     
  9. gfb107

    gfb107 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    Also the the charging cable must not be connnected
     
  10. dprisoner

    dprisoner Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Silly-con Valley
    I can access the Summon page with the charging cable still plugged in. You can't summon, but the Homelink button will still work. I do it every morning.
     
  11. ####AFastTezla

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Broad Ripple
    Why bother, if your gone for too long there will hopefully be a new update for that update
     
  12. gfb107

    gfb107 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    You're correct. I'm sure I tried it once and it didn't show me the homelink button, but it worked today.
     
  13. gjunky

    gjunky Waiting for the Model ☰

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    900
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    It would be a handy feature though. For the last few updates, I would be at home but getting up and seeing the notification on my phone. My garage is separate from the house so it would have been handy to let me push a button and say "Install Now" so it would be ready by the time I left.
     

Share This Page