Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Should I get my new MS detailed?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

Al Sherman

It's about THIS car.
Nov 29, 2012
Batesville, IN
MS is coming Tuesday. My "intention" is to try very hard to take care of the exterior of this car. I have no knowledge or practical history of doing this. I'm going to try though which actually amounts to taking it to a highly rated detailer in Cincinnati on a regular basis.

Question: Is there any reason to take it to him right after I get it? My Paint Armor is due bill. I spoke with the detailer and he said " as long as the Paint Armor guy Claybars the car before I should be OK and I should bring it to him before Winter unless I want it cleaned sooner for personal reasons.

Seems as though it wouldn't hurt to let him get the protectant (he uses Glare products exclusively which artsci is testing) on immediately.

Is the Paint Armor guy gonna just strip all that stuff off anyway? Should I take it to the detailer right after the Paint Armor cures?

Thoughts please.

Based on my experience (n-1), having picked up my Model S yesterday from the Springfield, NJ delivery center, the car was perfectly detailed when I got it. That likely will hold you until the Paint Armor gets put on, and you are right that the PA guy will strip it off. IMHO, save your money and have it done after. The only thing that you might want to consider is getting some stain repellant put on the carpets ASAP. (If you have light seats, they come with a protectant already and artsci discusses in detail in another thread).

Good luck

Tuesday? Fantastic! Is it coming to you, or are you headed to a service center to pick it up? Enjoy!