TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Software Update 2018.50.x

Discussion in 'Model S' started by Videofrank, Jan 22, 2019.

  1. S85D

    S85D Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    420
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    You never know when you will get an update, so yes they are random. If an update is available and you take your car in for service, you will normally get an update within a few hours after leaving the service center.

    You will get a notification on your phone when an update is available and you can start the update on your Tesla phone app
     
    • Like x 1
  2. jvl007

    jvl007 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Ah, got it. Thanks for the clarification.
     
  3. Magellan55

    Magellan55 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Maybe totally different issue but I had that happen to me when I moved to 48. Someone on the forum told me to look at my phone app and sure enough the charging notifications had been turned off somehow. Turned them back on and all was well. Still getting the charge complete messages on my iPhone / Watch with 50.7.
     
    • Informative x 1
  4. KArnold

    KArnold Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Columbus OH
    Interesting how different our experiences are. My MCU doesn't freeze. My Slacker works 99.9% of the time. The auto-wipers on the first notch work well 99.9% of the time. I don't listen to USB music and my dog cannot ride in the car so those I cannot comment on.

    But your point in fixing bugs as a priority is definitely needed. I'd love to have a working browser again and 2 apps up at the same time besides map/tunes. I guess the latter is not technically a bug but rather a stupid design. And I don't care personally about reading texts (they rarely bring good news) but auto mirror fold is definitely something I could use.
     
    • Like x 1
  5. P100D_Me

    P100D_Me Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Australia
    As best as owners have been able to determine, the MCU freeze is linked in to Spofity not working (yes I know the US does not get this option).
    But if you have any Spofity albums on the recently played bar down the bottom and you press one when Spofity is not working (which is more often than not) then the screen just freezes, it is totally unresponsive and requires a two button reset. (Why they don't have a watchdog checking for frozen apps I have no idea). A frozen music app should NEVER prevent access to menu items that affect the cars operation.
    Like I'd mentioned, Service Centre has been made well aware by many owners and they acknowledge Tesla know about it.....since October last year.
     
  6. brendon1970

    brendon1970 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Newcastle, New South Wales
    I've seen that behavior or at least a similar one - wife was trying to find music on Spotify, and whatever happened, the MCU locked up and then rebooted itself. She doesn't touch spotify so often now, so its more stable.

    Had a new one yesterday, was trucking along down a motorway on AP, all of a sudden the car started making the "Tesla Collision Warning" sound, and the MCU repeatedly flashed "Take over immediately". I noticed that the driver display was not updating at all. After a minute of puzzling what happened the drivers display faded to grey and rebooted itself. Certainly a bit of a WTF moment.

    Ah the joys of owning a Tesla - I love the car, could live without some of the software faults.
     
    • Like x 2
  7. P100D_Me

    P100D_Me Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Australia
    Yep, why I've never used AP in my car, too many WTF stories out there like the one you just told.
    Thankfully the car redeems itself beyond anything else out there in how it drives, and it's super comfortable too.
     
  8. Kruegmeister

    Kruegmeister Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    Rochester, MI
    These are 2 different systems. When the ATT Cellular Signal was out a few days ago, I thought it was the 50 update which I had just received. So I tried that two finger reboot to see if it would reconnect. I was using AP at the time going thru downtown Rochester and it did not disengage and did not falter. But then again I always have my Hands on the wheel, because I dont care who programmed it, I'm not gonna 100% trust it.
     
    • Like x 1
  9. Kruegmeister

    Kruegmeister Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    Rochester, MI
    The Driver Display is the Only Display that warns for Collision.
    The Main Screen does not display that, at least not here in the US???
    Also, again AP kept functioning during a reboot, so not run by the MediaContolUnit
     
    • Like x 1
  10. brendon1970

    brendon1970 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Newcastle, New South Wales
    I can only report what I saw, big flashing "Take over immediately" displayed on the MCU. Maybe you've never seen the consequences of a driver display crash - I certainly hadn't either.

    I'm not a new owner and thought I knew my car and its quirks inside out, like I said bit of a WTF moment.
     
  11. Kruegmeister

    Kruegmeister Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    Rochester, MI
    I'm certainly no expert, but I know a 2 thumb wheel reboot will restart both screens & will not effect driving or AutoPilot... it was probably not wise of me to try my reboot while in AutoPilot, but at least I was in the 25 mph zone of Downtown, so nothing too catastrophic was gonna happen. Happy to report AutoPilot continues to drive during an MCU reboot and worked without problem. The MCU is the Media Control Unit which most likely handles Radio, etc & maybe displaying the little cars on the Driver Display, but I think it has Zero to do with anything Driving.
     
    • Like x 1
  12. bebbiXpress

    bebbiXpress Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    Basel
    That's the case if it's a newer car that has an MCU2. If the car has the older MCU the two screens (or actually "computers") are independent of each other. You can reboot the MCU by pressing both wheels and reboot the IC (instrument cluster) by pressing the buttons above the wheels. While rebooting one screen the other remains working.

    With the older MCU If there's an AP message while rebooting the IC it will be displayed on the MCU.
     
    • Informative x 4
    • Like x 2
  13. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    5,567
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Rollout wise, seems like this is getting to the corners now. :D Our 3 got it a month ago and just got it on our X tonight.

    And a comment on charging notifications, always get charging started, but never completed. Been that way forever, so I do think it’s a back end issue.
     
  14. Altes

    Altes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    SF Bay area
    you are missing the big nothingburger that was just downloaded to your car
     
  15. nico180

    nico180 180 Nico's on the wall

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    792
    Location:
    Zutphen, Netherlands
    I observed once a driver display failure that causes the diaplay too freeze. The speed and display was not updating for seconds. Car was on AP. Then out of nothing a big icon (nearlynhalf the screen of the MCU) with beeping sound and a warning message 'take over control'

    This was in a loaner, not experienced this in my own car, in a older firmware that we are discussing
     
  16. MorrisonHiker

    MorrisonHiker S 100D 2018.50.6

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5,762
    Location:
    Colorado
    I got 2018.50.6 on the 90D several weeks ago and just got updates on the 75D and 100D last night. The 75D has AP2.5 so maybe there's a chance it will get a more recent version than 2018.50.6.

    Update: The 75D and 100D both got the 2018.50.6 update. The Model 3 has 2018.50.6 and didn't get any new updates.

    File sizes for the 75D and 100D were 236 MB and 300 MB, respectively.
     
    • Informative x 1
  17. BridgeMojo

    BridgeMojo Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Monrovia, CA
    I drove on 2018.50.7 for the first time yesterday.

    I didn't see any real improvements in Navigate On Autopilot -- in fact it seemed a bit more squirrelly on lane changes. Yesterday in heavy freeway traffic, light rain: it found a hole, started the change, balked after crossing the line, returned to the first lane, then resumed and completed the lane change.

    It did that twice -- made me look like a bit of an id1ot driver. But it could have been unique circumstances and not anything to do with 2019.50.7.

    Aside from that, I'm hoping to discover that it will do a better job of storing my preferences. I keep finding I lost my enable of Navigate on Autopilot, my parking chime setting, my mirror auto-tilt, and a few other settings that would magically be reset in 2018.48.1.
     
  18. markn455

    markn455 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    Ball Ground, GA
    Actually I got the update today on my MS. 2018.50.6.4ec03ed . The update release notes are nothing but a repeat of the update I received before holidays in December. I have gone through all the menus. No DOG mode, nothing. I can't tell any difference.
     
  19. ghostrunner

    ghostrunner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Edmonton
    I just got te update last night and it showed the same release notes as the previous update, but it did change the service menu on the app, they added the "firmware update" request to the list of service choices. I am on 2018.50.6 and app 3.8.1
     
  20. dark cloud

    dark cloud Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2018
    Messages:
    516
    Location:
    BC
    There must be some change or it would not have been sent, right?

    I am not a computer person but maybe the purpose is to rewrite a whole bunch of code in a more efficient fashion to make operations quicker? or free up some storage space?

    Or does it just lay some kind of framework to set up the next update?
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC