TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Tesla blames MCU resets on Tesla Waze Website.

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by SabrToothSqrl, May 24, 2018.

  1. .jg.

    .jg. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Weston Super Mare, England
    I use the teslawaze website quite frequently and have never had an unsolicited MCU reset. I have had to reset the MCU a few times, when the media player has frozen - usually when using Spotify.
     
  2. ASUComputerGuy

    ASUComputerGuy Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Thanks @Shateam. That's exactly what I did; set it to google. I'll just have to wait and see if I get any more reboots. I am sad to hear about TeslaWaze going away. I was excited to see if it would work for me. I just hope Tesla gets their maps integrated with Waze and also gets the option to display the "live" weather layer. As always this user community is great. Thanks for all the info!
     
  3. ericwol

    ericwol Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Correct, with the ,12 update the browser now continues running even if it is in sleep mode. It was hammerings my server up a million requests a day until I figured out what was going on. I updated the app that if your car has not moved in 10 mins, then I stop polling/updating.

    I also had MCU lock ups, and it ended being my Android phone plugged into the cars USB port. I assume, it was trying to use my phone as a USB device and their USB drivers were hanging. I got a cigarette lighter charger and I have had no issues since then.
     
    • Like x 3
    • Informative x 2
    • Helpful x 1
  4. AustinP

    AustinP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    778
    Location:
    Belgium
    Hi Eric,

    Out of curiosity, is it only .12 or since .12 (so including the .18, ...) that the browser continues running?

    Love your app, hope you find a way without Gmap
     
  5. 3mp_kwh

    3mp_kwh Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    Boston
    #25 3mp_kwh, Jun 1, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2018
    Two cars, both updated to 18.2.301aeee, both having sudden issues
    Both have mp3 gumsticks, neither actively uses waze

    Her call drop frequency (Android over Bluetooth) went up
    Mine has self-reset MCU 3 times and I've initiated dual-thumbwheel resets twice.
    I haven't tried pulling the gumsticks. Loading errors happen at about the same rate. The first time I've ever had an MCU reset while on phone. I had to turn Bluetooth off, in order to save a call. Phone not plugged via USB (only lighter 12v, or its own battery)
    Odd Microsoft Login screen was the first browser image, after the last update. It asked for a Microsoft login. I don't even have MSoft bookmarked. The browser definitely picked up capability, actually being able to log into WSJ for instance. I do use it, and there's been some upgrading along with these other issues.
     
  6. BestRadar

    BestRadar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    NJ
    My screen reboots 1-2 times a week and I dont use the website. They are just making up excuses because they don't know the cause. Change the browser to Google.com and when it reboots again go back and tell them they were wrong.
     
  7. MIT_S60

    MIT_S60 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2016
    Messages:
    878
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    I've had those issues and never visited Tesla Waze. The service center even asked me to send a video when my dash showed 0 odometer.
     
  8. cybergates

    cybergates Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    So Cal
    on 2018.18 i used the teslawaze site about 5 times in the past week. I locked up twice and had to reboot the screen (everything frozen) as soon as the site loaded.
     
  9. nexusone

    nexusone Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    California
    It's a good thing that Tesla isn't a software company... oh wait... nevermind.
     
  10. Icey

    Icey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Adelaide/Melbourne
    Move to Australia... You don't get it!
     
    • Funny x 1
  11. brkaus

    brkaus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6,582
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I’d love to! Haven’t been there in 20 years, but it was great!

    I’d gladly give up a browser to do that!
     
    • Like x 1

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC