Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Tesla range anxiety

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I've been driving a BMW i3 for the last 18 months as a more or less "local" car for trips within about a 30 miles radius of home. Early on we were quite nervous about the range, but became comfortable arriving home with 5-10 miles of range remaining. But of course we were coming home to a known charger.

In the many threads I've read on charging and touring, a lot of Tesla owners seem very nervous about arriving with 30miles of range, which we would consider a luxury with the BMW. I'm assuming they know something I don't which is why they are nervous. So what is it?

Does 30 miles of rated range quickly become 10miles under the wrong conditions? Or is it simply that the power meter is reading low double digits? In other words is this all relative to "full" range or is there some real danger in ending up with 10 miles of rated range in an MS?

Maybe I'm more adventurous than most, but 30 miles seems like a lot to me, so I never get concerned when I get that low. Arriving with 30 miles is plenty. I guess it is about perspective. I think about it in terms of: 30 miles is nearly San Francisco to Palo Alto, so that is quite a bit of driving. I always find it funny when I start thinking "I'm getting low" when the range hits 60 or 70 miles then I realize that is basically a full charge in any non-Tesla EV. I guess it seems lowish compared to normal driving when you always start the day with 235 miles, and finish your daily driving with >180 miles.

Reactions: Tree95 and cdub