Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Vampire drains, 12 volt batteries, parking over 14 days....

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Newbie here. Based on some things I've read about the Model S, some questions for discussion:
  • I've read that a number of Model S owners are going thru 12 volt batteries once a year. Not sure why, but one assumes that there is an issue with the existing architecture of the battery bus system.
  • Vampire drains. We all have them in modern cars, but some cars are worse than others. My concern, parking a Model 3 at the airport for 15 or more days.
  • I know some Model S owners have talked about CTEK (and other) trickle chargers to address some of these concerns. I'd expect a car shipping in 2018 (?) to not require some aftermarket hardware to deal with these items.
Constructive comments most welcome.

Cheers

• Disagree
Reactions: voip-ninja
Newbie here. Based on some things I've read about the Model S, some questions for discussion:
  • I've read that a number of Model S owners are going thru 12 volt batteries once a year. Not sure why, but one assumes that there is an issue with the existing architecture of the battery bus system.
  • Vampire drains. We all have them in modern cars, but some cars are worse than others. My concern, parking a Model 3 at the airport for 15 or more days.
  • I know some Model S owners have talked about CTEK (and other) trickle chargers to address some of these concerns. I'd expect a car shipping in 2018 (?) to not require some aftermarket hardware to deal with these items.
Constructive comments most welcome.

Cheers

Well, you are basically asking people to speculate on a car that isn't going to be available for about 2 years. It would be foolish to assume Tesla isn't constantly working to address some of these concerns.