TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

2015 and MCU Upgrade

Discussion in 'Model S' started by rooter, Jul 25, 2018.

  1. kdday

    kdday Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    AZ
    Can you elaborate as to what "newer" means here (model year or firmware version that effectuates this change). Also, does that mean "older" cars can still make configuration changes in the future?
     
  2. apacheguy

    apacheguy S Sig #255

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,989
    Location:
    So Cal
    AFAIK, MCU2 is “newer.” It is possible that they have recently backported these changes to MCU1 but I have no visibility into that.
     
  3. Asterix187

    Asterix187 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    542
    Location:
    England
    Forgive my ignorance, is this thread saying someone has upgraded from MCU1 to MCU2 themselves?
     
  4. appleguru

    appleguru Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    US
    No, “just” MCU1 to a newer MCU1. Still a pretty impressive feat!
     
    • Informative x 2
  5. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,383
    Location:
    TN
    I suspect a lot of this has to do with bounties. So if you share something, it gets reported and then closed. So there's a lot of risk in sharing things. Of course if you don't share things they might still be independently discovered, but pool of people capable of this is smaller and often they are more careful.

    I suspect Tesla no longer cares about MCU1 as much, most of the focus is on MCU2 and model3 - and those are quite a bit more secured compared to mcu1 (nothing is perfect of course, but the bar is significantly higher).
     
    • Informative x 2
  6. Jack Tripper

    Jack Tripper Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    USA
    What's the difference between MCU1 and the newer MCU1? Is the part number in the OP considered MCU 1.5?
     
  7. apacheguy

    apacheguy S Sig #255

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,989
    Location:
    So Cal
    MCU1 has a Tegra 3. MCU2 is has an Intel chipset. There is no MCU1.5.
     
  8. apacheguy

    apacheguy S Sig #255

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,989
    Location:
    So Cal
    Sure, but folks should be more open about sharing vulnerabilities that have already been patched. If it’s patched, what’s the point of keeping it secret?
     
    • Love x 1
  9. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,383
    Location:
    TN
    There's "MCU0" and "MCU1" of sorts. They changed the layout of some back connectors when going to AP2 on the mcu without changing much in the way of internals.

    Plenty of people are on older releases either by choice (7.1 before the AP restrictions were introduced) or because they have unsupported cars.
    Then sometimes you are able to chain several vulnerabilities to bring old patched ones back into life (think downgrade attacks of various sorts, one of those was finally closed in 18.24).

    And then there's the monetary factor - car shops pay even for old vulnerabilities that are already fixed because they often get salvage cars with old firmwares that they need to get into in order to be able to perform repairs.

    That said, there's still some knowledge exchange going on, it's just everybody is super suspicious of everybody to a high degree.
     
    • Informative x 1
    • Love x 1
  10. apacheguy

    apacheguy S Sig #255

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,989
    Location:
    So Cal
    Where do I find these car shops? To the best of my knowledge, the only ones offering any kind of service to salvage vehicles in the US are @Ingineer and @wk057. They already have vulnerabilities and certainly aren’t paying for them.
     
  11. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,383
    Location:
    TN
    The shops are to be found in Europe, Africa and MiddleEast, there are whole countries with plenty of Teslas and no official support from Tesla (e.g. see Russia and Ukraine that were vacuuming US salvage market for quite some time now). There are also more people in US servicing those Tesla cars (and restoring them) that are not as well set as Ingineer and wk057.

    As for how to find those shops - I don't know, I imagine some of them might advertise somewhere. I was approached here on TMC by some of them seeking information and offering to pay.
     
  12. lunitiks

    lunitiks Cool James & Black Teacher

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2016
    Messages:
    2,708
    Location:
    Prawn Island, VC
    1004777-xx-x is MCU0 (prod until Dec 2015'ish),
    1045006-xx-x is MCU1 (Dec 2015 - Mar 2018),
    1450737-xx-x is MCU2 (Mar 2018 - today).

    Upgrading from mcu0 to mcu1 is possible. You'll need the bluetooth antenna, and access to Tesla's software (or rooting skills, I guess).

    Upgrading from mcu1 to mcu2 I have not seen done, but I see no reasons why it shouldn't be possible - again, provided you have the SW tools necessary.

    I'm sure it's possible to jump straight from mcu0 to mcu2 too
     
    • Informative x 1
  13. robby

    robby Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    At least one service center has done a MCU1 => MCU2 retrofit. It took some pretty extenuating circumstances, and they have rejected subsequent requests.
     
    • Informative x 1
  14. pkodali

    pkodali Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    817
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Woah, can you link this?
     
  15. robby

    robby Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    I don't have a link, sorry. I heard it first hand from the owner, whom I have every reason to trust.
     
  16. appleguru

    appleguru Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    US
    • Funny x 3
  17. robby

    robby Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    Andover, MA
  18. Dutchmeeuw

    Dutchmeeuw Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Do you also need Toolbox for swapping a MCU0 for MCU0?
     
  19. lunitiks

    lunitiks Cool James & Black Teacher

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2016
    Messages:
    2,708
    Location:
    Prawn Island, VC
  20. rooter

    rooter Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Corona del Mar
    #40 rooter, Mar 2, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2019
    I've done a couple writeups on DIY, one of which is linked in my sig. I haven't seen any other howto's like these.

    As to independent control of the car, Tinker Board has proven to be a time-wasting disaster. One Raspberry Pi 3B+ failed eth0, and another failed wifi. Trash, AFAIC.

    So I'm now working up an Arduino Yun to connect to the car's switch and link in to my LAN by wifi. There's even a CAN shield, which could be interesting. I'm enthusiastic about the Arduino platform for several reasons. Hope it pans out.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC