Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

2017 MX Supercharging in Late 2023

Does SuperCharging Seem to Be Taking Longer for the 2016 thru 2020 Model X?

• Much Slower

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Maybe a Little Slower

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Seems About The Same

Votes: 1 33.3%
  • It's Faster Than Ever

Votes: 2 66.7%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi, all.

We picked up our 2017 Model X about a month ago, and, as our first Tesla, we love the experience and are glad we picked up the vehicle. I'm guessing we'll keep it until the wheels fall off, and we're already plotting to replace our second vehicle with another Tesla in the near future.

I've had some interesting experiences with the Supercharger and rates we're getting during our travels. We've taken two road trips with the MX, and seen charging rates all over the map. While I understand different charging stations may have different issues, v2 versus v3 Superchargers, and the algorithm (and the updates to that) for pulling kW depending upon the State of Charge (SoC), I thought I'd share what I've seen and see if we're on-par with the capabilities expected for this model year.

Interestingly, the first Supercharger we did with the vehicle must have been the perfect combination of SoC, ambient temperature, etc., because I can swear I saw the 225 kW for a brief (very brief) time when I plugged-in. Of course, the charge quickly hit 20%, and the algorithm kicked in to bring the rate down. I've never seen a rate over 200 kW since.
I should also state we've also upgraded from MCU1 to MCU2, had a bunch of service done on the vehicle (some of it software-related issues), and may have had the computer reset once or twice as a result. I'm guessing the software has more to do with charging than the hardware, but we have seen updates over the few weeks we've had the vehicle.