Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Astronomers need lights-off mode

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I am an amateur astronomer. I periodically travel to remote dark-sky locations with my astronomical equipment, which are generally events for many astronomers hosted my an astronomical organization.

These organizations generally have a rule on the observing field that bans white lights of any kind. This is because white light destroys night vision, which can take as much as 30 minutes to reach its maximum sensitivity. Astronomers use dim red lights, at the far end of the visible spectrum, which do not destroy night vision. If you do not want to have dozens of astronomers start yelling at you, do not turn on a non-red light. Failure to respect this rule can result in you being asked to leave.

The Model S does not provide any means for extinguishing all lighting. As a result, I am unable to use my Tesla for transportation to such events. Even taking the rash measure of turning off power to the vehicle, which the manual states will remain off until either the brake is pressed of the display screen is touched, does not work, because, as soon as a door is opened, the car turns back on (i.e. the manual is incorrect, and this action basically makes the "power-off" feature useless, since the car turns right back on as soon as you open a door). Since most of my equipment is in the vehicle and needs to be accessed at various times throughout the night, there is no way for me to stop lights from turning/remaining on.