TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Autopilot disabled due to frunk latch failure

Discussion in 'Model S' started by mikeash, Jun 11, 2016.

  1. mikeash

    mikeash Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,107
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA, USA
    Not quite two weeks ago, I started driving home, got on the highway, pulled the cruise control stalk to engage Autopilot, and... warning beep! Cruise control disabled. I had to drive 80 miles home by hand. The horror!

    I tried cleaning the radar and camera and rebooting the computers, no dice. Tesla checked the logs and said it had to come in. They couldn't squeeze me in for a bit more than a week, but OK, I can still drive the car.

    I drove around like this for a few days, then one morning I get a text from my wife with a photo showing the Autopilot engaged. It had come back to life!

    I still took it for the service, of course, in case something was still wrong. A little while later they gave me a call with this odd bit of info: the frunk latch was defective, and that's why the cruise control wouldn't engage. This puzzles me because I'd think that would be a safety thing that would prevent the car from driving altogether, but I guess the Autopilot end must be more sensitive or something. Sharing this news with my wife, we mentally reviewed the previous week and realized we hadn't used the frunk for several days, but we finally did use it for groceries the night before it started working again. We think that using the frunk reset the failure somehow.

    Tesla still replaced it, and took care of a couple of service bulletins too. But I thought I'd share, because it seems like it could be handy if you're in the middle of a long trip. If suddenly cruise control won't engage and you've tried everything else, you might try opening and closing your frunk (and maybe the hatch or doors?) to see if that helps.
     
    • Informative x 8
    • Helpful x 1
    • Like x 1
  2. msnow

    msnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    4,962
    Location:
    SoCal
  3. Gizmo17

    Gizmo17 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    NJ
    Good to know, thanks for sharing!
     
  4. 2virgule5

    2virgule5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Westfield NJ
    Just had the “cruise symptom”, I’m going to play with the frunk to see if it helps !
     
  5. sakimano

    sakimano Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I was going to bet a coke you had a bad ground stud.
     
  6. 2virgule5

    2virgule5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Westfield NJ
    Frunk didn’t help. After 24h and a call to Tesla support the stuff magically came back while driving... Will have SC to check this during my annual service next week.
     
  7. CAF

    CAF Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    United States
    2virgule5, did you get your issue with "Cruise control disabled" resolved?

    Our 2017 S75D has had this since May delivery, despite numerous attempts by service to fix. We get an error on average about half the time we attempt to use cruise or autopilot. Very frustrating, especially as our car has been so awesome otherwise.
     
  8. weradln

    weradln Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    Am thinking that there is an oversight in the software that no warning message come up on the display yet the fault stops AP operation. Sounds like an update is needed.
     
  9. CAF

    CAF Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    United States
    weradln,

    Yes, and what's frustrating to me is that the diagnostic capability to troubleshoot this very complex system seems underdeveloped. My service department seems to be employing the age old mechanic's routine of "replace a few parts at a time until it's fixed". They should be able to do a much better diagnostic run with today's software integration.
     
  10. 2virgule5

    2virgule5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Westfield NJ
    AP came back out of nowhere while driving, 3 days after the issue started. My SC told me they will inspect it during next service. It may have been software related after all, but a faulty ground cannot be excluded. Will report back if they find something.
     
  11. CAF

    CAF Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    United States
    Thanks for the follow up!
     

Share This Page