Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

High Mileage Model 3

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi All
Im new to Model 3s having only driven the S many years ago in the UK.
Im now considering buying used, and im finding many bargains for Standard and Long Range versions for under £20k. The major problem is they all have 80k+ miles on them at 4years old. Are these excessive mileages and does any one know what to look out for on such vehicles?
I realise the batteries can run to 500000 miles if regularly maintained, but i dont see ttoo much said about the other parts. Any advice much appreciated

Thanks

Shogun

I have 67k on mine and it seems fairly new to me still. Carvana says mine is worth $16.6k which is dirt cheap, considering it's perfect and has FSD paid for.

I would check for the usual wear issues with any used vehicle. Check the upper control arms aren't squeaking, by pressing down on each front quarter panel. I'd make sure it had HW3, and not HW2.5. Is that on the info screen? Dunno. Look at the range screen and do the calculation to see what the BMS thinks the current range capacity is. At least you'll know what the car thinks its deg is. Oh yeah, also check the tire wear to make sure it's even across the tread. It can be hard to align given the only easy adjustment is the toe.

Hi All
Im new to Model 3s having only driven the S many years ago in the UK.
Im now considering buying used, and im finding many bargains for Standard and Long Range versions for under £20k. The major problem is they all have 80k+ miles on them at 4years old. Are these excessive mileages and does any one know what to look out for on such vehicles?
I realise the batteries can run to 500000 miles if regularly maintained, but i dont see ttoo much said about the other parts. Any advice much appreciated

Thanks

Shogun