TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

How to add Autopilot

Discussion in 'Model S: Driving Dynamics' started by sagaboy, Oct 15, 2015.

  1. sagaboy

    sagaboy Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi everyone,

    Does anyone know how to add Autopilot software. I didn't buy it when I got my car but I want to add it now.

    Thxs.
     
  2. Max*

    Max* Autopilot != Autonomous

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4,872
    Location:
    NoVa
    Did you call the service center and request it?
     
  3. green1

    green1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,116
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    If you have the hardware but not the software, it's easy, just call Tesla and ask to add it. should cost a few thousand.

    If you don't have the hardware, forget about it.
     
  4. yo mama

    yo mama Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    san jose, CA
    My dumb ass question is that I paid for the option but I'm not seeing the update notification on my console (like I've seen with prior updates).

    Am I doing something wrong (besides being a dumb ass)? What is the (dumb ass proof) way for me to confirm whether the update occurred?

    Thanks - and apologies - in advance.
     
  5. MrJones390

    MrJones390 Space Boat

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    The update is rolling out over the next 5 days. You will get a notification on your phone if you have the app and will get a notification on the 17" touch screen regardless.
     
  6. Max*

    Max* Autopilot != Autonomous

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4,872
    Location:
    NoVa

    Only on iPhone, Android doesn't notify the phone.

    - - - Updated - - -

    It'll be just like all the other updates. It'll prompt you for a time to start. EM said 5 day rollout. Then he said "a few days" during yesterdays telecon.
     
  7. yo mama

    yo mama Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    san jose, CA
    Aaaaaaaand I literally just got a notification of the available update on my iPhone. Apparently complaining on the TMC boards is useful, after all.
     
  8. sagaboy

    sagaboy Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Canada
    Really weird. Just called and they have to book the car for service to do the update at the end of the month. When i got the car i was told it was just a software update.
     
  9. Cyclone

    Cyclone Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,397
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    It likely is just the software, but they may need physical access to the car to connect to the system and enable the feature. Hence, you gotta get scheduled in for them to tweak the car's profile and reload the operating system.
     
  10. jpet

    jpet Jan P.

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    3,288
    Location:
    Herne & Leuven, BE
    Or they might need physical access to check and calibrate the camera / radar?
     
  11. sagaboy

    sagaboy Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Canada
    Well I'm booked in for the 26th.

    Would keep anyone interested posted. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page