TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Losing Model 3 priority slot

Discussion in 'Model 3' started by IanH88, Jul 20, 2017.

  1. IanH88

    IanH88 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    United States
    Apologies if this has been asked and answered, I did a couple of searches but couldn't come up with anything.

    I've had a Model S since 2014 and pre-ordered a M3 last year.

    My question is will I lose my priority slot if I sell my S before I get a confirmed delivery date?
     
  2. bonnie

    bonnie Oil is for sissies.

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    15,721
    Location:
    Columbia River Gorge
    @IanH88 -- that's a question you need to ask Tesla directly. I'd guess you would lose the priority slot, but that's just my opinion. I don't know.
     
  3. Tam

    Tam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2,924
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Tesla has a readily available data base of who's owning what but it is only good if someone registers for it.

    If you sold your Model S but the new owner doesn't care to register for remote access and other stuff and you didn't notify Tesla, then most likely Tesla still thinks that you still have the car as reflected on your personal page "My Tesla" (and of course, you still can remote control your sold car.)
     
  4. zenmaster

    zenmaster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Atlanta
    I wouldn't think priority slots are pre-assigned.
     
  5. Troy

    Troy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,116
    Location:
    Yes, I think you would lose priority because your MyTesla account wouldn't show another Tesla at the time Tesla decides to send out configuration invites for the Model 3. The opposite is also true. Somebody who didn't own a Tesla when they reserved the Model 3 will have priority if they bought a Tesla in the meantime. This part was actually confirmed by Tesla. See details here.
     
    • Informative x 1
    • Like x 1
  6. Tam

    Tam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2,924
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    I think it is dynamically assigned in real time according to different criteria at the time: Employee status, Tesla Ownership, most optioned configuration, west to east coast address changes...
     
  7. Big-T

    Big-T Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    To be clear, we're all guessing here. Maybe a Tesla employee could tell you but then again they're often not much better informed than the regulars that live on these forums.
     
    • Disagree x 1
  8. Troy

    Troy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,116
    Location:
    #8 Troy, Jul 21, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2017
    Check out the following message. It's from the thread here.
    What the employees are telling here about using MyTesla account records as the criteria is not a surprise to me. My theory was the same. Check out my message here from a few months ago.

    I'm 90% sure you will lose priority if you sell your Model S now. Your Model S and Model 3 reservation should be in the same MyTesla account at least until you have confirmed your configuration and potentially until your Model 3 starts production. My calculations show that Tesla will finish production of all RWD employee cars in California on Oct 7, 2017. Of course, the design studio will open and the first batch of invitations to configure will go out before then but I don't know how long before it.
     
    • Like x 1
  9. Yggdrasill

    Yggdrasill Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,500
    Location:
    Kongsberg, Norway
    The question was whether he would lose it before getting a confirmed delivery date. I think you won't lose it, if you have configured and confirmed, and the Model 3 has gone into production. That could easily be before you have a confirmed delivery date.
     
  10. IanH88

    IanH88 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    United States
    Thanks for all the answers and opinions....looks like I'd lose my slot from everything I can tell
     

Share This Page