Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Model S damaged at SC 1 day before delivery. What should I do?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi TMS,

I'm new to the Tesla family and my DS called me this morning to inform me two cars were in an accident near the service center and one vehicle hit my MS 1 day prior to delivery. The SC sent a loaner 90D until the car I ordered is repaired which is estimated to take 3-4 weeks. One of my concerns is the car was damaged, should I request another vehicle or accept the accommodation of repair and loaner? I'm wondering if

1) Accept Tesla's offer
2) Request a new vehicle from Tesla
3) Ask Tesla for a price reduction because the car was damage

I'm starting to think I should request a new car and let Tesla figure our what to do with the damaged car. Would appreciate feedback from others.

Thank you.

I would ask for a new car. Who wants to start out with body work on a new car before you even get it? Even if the repair doesn't show up on Carfax if they have to paint, that does show up when you go to sell (unless you sell privately).

#3 might be an option as well, but I doubt Tesla will be willing to budge. They will argue the car will be repaired to new condition and not acknowledge the fact of the market that repairs of any sort diminish value.

Of course, this assumes you are purchasing the car and won't keep it 8-10 years (at which point the repairs wouldn't matter). I am not sure how this situation would affect a leased car.

Reactions: Cowby and xborg
When you sell the car to the next guy a few years down the road, they will know that its been repaired, even if it doesn't show up on carfax. These people are trained to look for repair signs.

I would either ask for a considerable discount, or, a new car.
How much discount? Adjust for,