TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

My S won't charge since the software update last night

Discussion in 'Model S: Battery & Charging' started by toolmanca1, Nov 15, 2016.

  1. toolmanca1

    toolmanca1 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    California
    Last night 11/14/16 my car received a software update. Since that update, the car now says there is a fault with the charger or cord when I plug in to any charger (I've tried 2). Specifically it cycles the voltage up, shows 220V live, but then cycles back to 0V, back up to 220V, and back to 0V, then it presents the error that it cannot charge.

    Anyone else seen this?

    Dave
     
  2. GasKilla

    GasKilla No Gas Know Peace

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    582
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    No but definitely call Tesla support (877) 798-3752
     
  3. TexasEV

    TexasEV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5,213
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Various random problems have occurred rarely with updates. This is why I always recommend to hold off on applying updates until you get home or you're somewhere else where you wouldn't mind getting stuck (sounds like your update practice is consistent with that).
     
  4. TSLA Pilot

    TSLA Pilot Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    522
    Location:
    United States
    FYI: Don't attribute correlation with causation--it could just be a coincidence as I'm sure the boards would be full of "issues" if there was some software bug, yet yours is the only one?

    Consider doing a scroll wheel reboot as well--quick, easy, and fast. Could solve your issue?

    Best.
     
    • Like x 1
  5. scottm

    scottm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    Canada
    Try a hard power off of the whole car. Then back on again.

    Also, try a supercharger if you have one within reasonable distance and enough juice in the pack to get there and back without a charge.

    Supercharger bypasses on-board AC/DC charger(s) and goes direct DC2DC.

    Also, try dialing down your amperage at your charging location. To something very low. If you have dual on-board chargers, dial down below 40A.

    Also, try the mobile charger if you're using HPWC, and try changing heads on the mobile charger from 14-50 to the regular 120V outlet style.
     
    • Helpful x 1
  6. thefortunes

    thefortunes Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    604
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Those are the symptoms of a failing charger. If you search this site you will see others (myself included) have had this problem - typically around the 70k mile mark.

    If you cannot charge at home, public j1772, etc... try a supercharger (which bypasses the onboard charger). If that works, it is likely your charger has failed.
     
  7. Gig103

    Gig103 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    Phoenix Metro Area
    Yikes, so is that covered under the battery/powertrain (8yr/unlimited) or the standard 4yr/50k warranty?
     
  8. thefortunes

    thefortunes Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    604
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Standard warranty (but most failures have been past 50k).
     
    • Informative x 1
  9. apacheguy

    apacheguy S Sig #255

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,483
    Location:
    So Cal
    Procedure? I've never heard of a hard power off. Do you mean disconnect the 12 V?
     
  10. scottm

    scottm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    Canada
    No, go to the center console and find the "power off car" button. You'll find it.
     
  11. apacheguy

    apacheguy S Sig #255

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,483
    Location:
    So Cal
    @scottm - AFAIK all that does is turn off the screens. All the units stay powered and no reboot occurs.
     
  12. Rocky_H

    Rocky_H Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,423
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    I'm pretty sure that is not correct.
     
  13. scottm

    scottm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    Canada
    I have never powered off my car using that switch.

    What does the manual say about what's supposed to happen?
     
  14. mrElbe

    mrElbe Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,200
    Location:
    Stouffville, ON Canada
    It does more than turn off the screen. I had a persistent suspension problem light on and Tesla technical advised me to do a "power down" to reset it. Bingo, it cleared it.
     
  15. apacheguy

    apacheguy S Sig #255

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,483
    Location:
    So Cal
    So it is more than just a CID reboot? Does it bring down the gateway as well?

    Maybe @Ingineer can help us out.
     

Share This Page