TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Need spare touchscreen to develop video interface

Discussion in 'Model S: Interior & Exterior' started by artsci, Jan 13, 2015.

  1. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,680
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    #1 artsci, Jan 13, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2015
    I'm working with a company to develop a video interface for the touchscreen that will make possible displaying HD video, DVD, and aftermarket HD camera images on the touchscreen. To do this they'll need a spare touchscreen that can be powered on the bench.

    Any ideas where one may be obtained without having to buy it new (I think a new screen is about $5,000 or more)?

    if we can develop the interface it likely could make possible several innovative uses of the screen -- mirroring a smartphone, controlling a radar detector/laser jammer, displaying a 360 degree overhead view of the car (with the Rydeen 360 and similar devices and 4 cameras), and using front and rear cameras with a HD DVR.
     
  2. NoMoGas

    NoMoGas Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    577
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    Salvaged car?
     
  3. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,680
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    Where can I find one? Are there web sites?
     
  4. jrreno

    jrreno Nothin' left to do but smile, smile, smile

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    691
    Location:
    Sarasota , Florida
  5. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,680
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
  6. rlang59

    rlang59 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    923
    Location:
    US
    Try wk057 he may have a contact since he has been getting the batteries.
     
  7. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,680
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    Did that and he gave me a lead.
     
  8. 4SUPER9

    4SUPER9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    California
    artsci, you never cease to amaze me.
    I am really hoping you can develop something here.
     
  9. Morristhecat

    Morristhecat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    568
    Location:
    Burnaby, BC
  10. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,680
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    I have a simpler version for Audi MMI in hand which I will test over the weekend. The version you identified has variable output settings, which might make a difference.

    Problem is that the video inputs are PAL/NTSC which are not HD. So even if it works the image will not be HD.

    While it's encouraging that the output is LVDS and the Fakra connection can be plugged right into the Tesla touchscreen Fakra connector, LVDS signals are not all the same. But it's also encouraging is that Audi MMI uses the same Nvidia Tegra 3 processors. So fingers crossed. If the one I have doesn't work I'll get this version for testing.
     
  11. yobigd20

    yobigd20 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,793
    Location:
    Skaneateles, NY
  12. tom66

    tom66 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    622
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Don't get too excited by HD: the camera can only occupy one half of the screen, which makes the maximum displayed resolution 1080 x 960... kind of like a stretched 720p image.

    Will the touchscreen even power up if you just give it 12V? I'd expect it needs an "on/off" signal from somewhere, otherwise it would run all the time. (I'm assuming Tesla wouldn't switch the touchscreen power on/off with a relay. They could do it, but it seems wasteful given that they could just turn it on/off in software.)
     
  13. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,680
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    That's a question I've asked myself as well.
     
  14. SteveW25561

    SteveW25561 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    565
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Hey, artsci: any update on testing of the Audi video interface? VERY curious!
     
  15. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,680
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    Not yet -- it will be connected next Tuesday and also set up for easy plug and play of other interfaces.
     
  16. Jason

    Jason Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    artsci - don't be too disappointed, I tried one while ago. It would let signal pass through, but not let me input anything through the video input. But don't let me stop you from trying.
    Hey - think we talked about this already on 8/16/14 :)
     
  17. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,680
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    Didn't work as I reported on the Rydeen 360 thread. But I won't accept defeat:)
     
  18. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,680
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    I now have a source for a spare touchscreen. I'm considering now the value of the investment. I think if we can develop a video interface that works, it will be well worth it. If not I suppose I can always resell it. Can't talk about the price but it's much cheaper than Tesla's price for a new one.
     
  19. ZBB

    ZBB Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,419
    Location:
    Scottsdale
    If the aluminum bezel is included in what you are buying, I'd be interested in buying that part from you... I managed to get a ding in mine and its driving me nuts.
     
  20. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,680
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    I'll see if we can include that. As I don't need it for my purposes if I can get it I'll sell it to you.
     

Share This Page