TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

T Sportline 19s on a P3D+ rattling like crazy

Discussion in 'Model 3: Driving Dynamics' started by P3D_Denver, Aug 17, 2018.

  1. P3D_Denver

    P3D_Denver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #1 P3D_Denver, Aug 17, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2018
    IMG_0405.jpg I recently picked up my Performance Model 3 and immediately took it over to my local (national chain) tire shop. they carefullly swapped out the factory wheels and installed a new set of T Sportline's Turbine style 19s. They mounted no issue, look great, and tire shop torque'd them up nice and good, to about 130lbs. After pulling away I heard some rattling at slow speeds < 40mph, high speeds I do not notice the rattling sound. It honestly sounds like it is coming from all 4 wheels, like they are loose, but they are not, they are on snug. I will go back to the tire shop tomorrow (they are close now) but why would I hear all of this rattling feedback?

    Thanks for your input!
     
    • Informative x 1
  2. Daniel in SD

    Daniel in SD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2018
    Messages:
    931
    Location:
    San Diego
    I wouldn't drive it until you figure it out! I saw in another thread that there is a lip on the hub of the P+. Are you absolutely sure that the wheels are flush with the hubs? Take a picture for us.
     
    • Informative x 2
    • Helpful x 1
    • Like x 1
  3. Skione65

    Skione65 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    552
    Location:
    Kentucky
    @P3D_Denver,

    Right now we’re trying to research and figure out if the 19” Sports will even fit in the P3D+ hubs due to something @FlyNavy01 discovered with a 3mm raised ‘lip’ on the hub of the P3D+. He tried to mount some aftermarket rims and had issue with them not sitting ‘flush’ to the hub due to the lip....turns out the inside of the 20” rim is bored out just to accommodate that lip.
    Check post #23 and #29 in the following thread for this....photos included. There’s also a later post of the bore out on the inside of the 20” Sport rim.
    Oh. @FlyNavy01 had to use 5mm spacers to get the rims to seat properly I believe. Maybe he can chime in here.

    P3D+ misc info and pics- wheel weight, calipers, suspension

    Let me know if what you find out.

    Ski
     
    • Informative x 2
    • Love x 1
  4. P3D_Denver

    P3D_Denver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I am going back to the tire shop tomorrow, to ask quesitons, and I am having the OEM 20" wheels re-installed, I only had them removed and had my winter setup (these 19" T Sport lines) installed so I could have the OEM 20" wheels painted black too.

    No issues with brake caliper clearance. You can see the 19" wheel has less center hub touch, but it looks flush, and was torqued (as i said above) to spec ~129lbs. The black lines on the hub, are the wheel connection touch points from the OEM 20"s.

    IMG_0408.jpg IMG_0408.jpg IMG_0410.jpg IMG_0411.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

    • Informative x 2
  5. P3D_Denver

    P3D_Denver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    interesting, thank you Ski! I remember on my G35 coupe when I ran a winter setup I had to install center hub rings to account for a similar issue, maybe that is it! I will re-install my OEM 20"s tomorrow, but I need this resloved before Colorado snow starts in 2-3 months! :)
     
  6. SD_Engnr

    SD_Engnr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    767
    Location:
    San Diego
    My guess is that the wheel isn't flush against the rotor hat. That's sort of weak that the shop didn't notice it.
     
    • Like x 1
    • Love x 1
  7. Skione65

    Skione65 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    552
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #7 Skione65, Aug 17, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2018
    @P3D_Denver,

    No problem. Hope you determine the issue. We’ve been trying to figure out of the Telstra 19”Sports will even fit on the P3D+ because we both want to run 19’s as a winter setup until @FlyNavy01 discovered that odd lip on the hub and resultant bore out on the stock 20’s.
    This may be a partial answer.
    Hope your shop determines something tomorrow but have them look at the hub closely after they pull the rims.

    P.S. @FlyNavy01 used 5mm hubcentric spacers but 3mm May work....not sure though.

    Ski
     
    • Informative x 1
  8. P3D_Denver

    P3D_Denver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    i think you are correct, they did say they were concerned with the wheel connection to the hub. Unfortuantely they closed right after I left. I will have them reinstall the 20"s tomorrow and hopefully T-Sport line is developing (maybe 3D-printing) some kind of center hub ring/attachment to resolve this.
     
  9. SD_Engnr

    SD_Engnr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    767
    Location:
    San Diego
    Do you know the centerbore of the Tsportline wheels? I'm having a set made for me by a friend, but my hub is probably a different size.
     
  10. P3D_Denver

    P3D_Denver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I do not know the centerbore, I can measure tomorrow after I get the OEM 20s re-installed.

    I want T-Sportline to take resopnsiblity, I specifically asked them about 19" wheels on the P3D+ as I was concerned with larger red brake caliper clarance and they said it was not an issue. I made the dumb assumption they tested their wheels on a P3D+. Oh well, hopefully they can make me whole soon!
     
    • Helpful x 1
  11. SD_Engnr

    SD_Engnr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    767
    Location:
    San Diego
    Have you spoken with them yet? If the wheels are hub centric, then they will need to be machined to fit, or you'll need a 3mm spacer.
     
    • Informative x 1
  12. P3D_Denver

    P3D_Denver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I left them an email, they are closed. I hope they can be corrected with a spacer!
     
    • Disagree x 1
  13. Daniel in SD

    Daniel in SD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2018
    Messages:
    931
    Location:
    San Diego
    I think it's real bad to torque down a wheel that's not flush with hub. My friend did that when he left an extra hub centric spacer on the hub when swapping the stock wheels back on to his car. It caused "galling" on the studs and they snapped when the wheel was removed (after he noticed it wasn't sitting flush). We had to replace the hub. Major PITA. Definitely give everything a very thorough looking over when they take off the wheels. Personally I wouldn't drive it if the wheels are loose.
     
    • Informative x 3
    • Helpful x 1
  14. SD_Engnr

    SD_Engnr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    767
    Location:
    San Diego
    I second this. I, personally, would not drive on them. Know anyone with a floor jack that can help you out?
     
    • Informative x 1
  15. P3D_Denver

    P3D_Denver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #15 P3D_Denver, Aug 17, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2018
    the tire shop is literally 1/4 mile away, i only put 15 miles on it, didn’t drive too fast, i think i’ll be ok.

    thank you all for you’ve quick responses! i’m
    so glad i didn’t drive more than 15miles!
     
    • Helpful x 1
    • Like x 1
    • Love x 1
  16. P3D_Denver

    P3D_Denver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    the centerbores are actually the same size, see this:

    The Tesla Model 3 Wheel and Tire Guide
     
  17. FlatSix911

    FlatSix911 918 Hybrid

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    5,077
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Here is another photo of the 3mm lip on the hub of the Performance Model 3...a 5mm spacer was used to permit flush mounting the wheel.
    I would recommend that you return the wheels to Tsportline and let them know about the fitment issue...a 3mm offset will need to be milled into the back of their wheels to fit correctly on the performance Model 3.

    [​IMG]
     
    • Informative x 3
    • Like x 1
  18. Big Ern

    Big Ern Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    C5AB2383-1D4A-477C-8B45-3B91AE5D9C8C.jpeg 23E7658F-5452-45DC-B2FE-AE84D13E443D.jpeg Here’s a picture of the back of my 20” Tsportline wheel, will I have the same problem on my P3D+? Or is it a feature of the Tsportline 19”?
     
  19. P3D_Denver

    P3D_Denver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    good news, T sportline just contacted me and they are sending the proper adapter. i hope I did not do any damage in 15 miles.
     
    • Informative x 1
  20. N54TT

    N54TT Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    NY
    From the looks of it you probably will. if the center was bored out a little deeper and straight in instead of an angle...like the stock 20”s they would fit Without any additional hardware.

    @P3_Denver what kind of adaptor are they sending you? Is it a spacer? Please post a pic when you get it. Still waiting to see the back of the stock 19’s....whether they would have the same issue as well.
     
    • Like x 1

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC