Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Too many service appointments?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
First post here (although I have been lurking for a while).

I have been driving my M3 for 6 months now (2021 model) and although generally I am very happy with the car I am getting frustrated by the number of times I have to take it to get serviced - which is made worse by the fact that I live in Swansea which is an hour away from the nearest service centre.

Firstly in April I needed to take it to get the side camera replaced under warranty because it had stopped working, the 3 weeks ago I had to take it in to get the heat pumps replaced (which went from a simple job to a difficult one and I had to be given a loaner), and this weekend after installing the latest update (2012.12.25.7) the car came up with an error that requires a service visit to install new software - and in the meantime I have lost lots of functionality in the car (no cruise control amongst other things).

Is this common with Model 3s? To be fair they have been out long enough that I am not exactly an early adopter, and this level of servicing is starting to become a pain.

Sounds like some bad luck.

There does seem to be a number of people on here with issues with camera issues from new on the last batch that arrived. For comparison my August 2019 car was part of a batch where the rear windows cracked after using the heaters. I've not heard much mention of heat pump issues, what went wrong with it? There have been a few people that had the error with that software update, but that's also the first time I've heard of an issue with a software update. I've had about 30 updates so far without issue.