TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Blackvue wifi and Iphone

Discussion in 'Model S: Interior & Exterior' started by freeewilly, Sep 21, 2016.

  1. freeewilly

    freeewilly Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    Brea, CA
    I installed Blackvue on my car over the weekend and setup Blackvue wi-fi on my phone. It's kind of annoying that whenever I get in the car, my phone will automatically connect to Blackvue wifi, which means I'm not connecting to cellular network. I have to push the little button on the side of the Blackvue to turn it off every time.

    Am I missing something? Is there a better way? Thanks.
     
  2. rypalmer

    rypalmer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    Canada
    Just "Forget" the network in your phone's wifi settings.
     
  3. habanero69

    habanero69 I Dont Need Cialis. I Drive an EV.

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    FLorida
    That means he has to setup the network each time he wants to connect to BV. That's a pain too. If I'm not mistaken, isn't there an option in the setup of the BV to not have wifi on by default? I'm pretty sure my 750 is NOT on... o_O
     
  4. freeewilly

    freeewilly Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    Brea, CA
    Thanks for the information, I'll check the settings tonight, if there is no option to set wifi off by default, I'll probably "delete" the wifi connection on the phone.
     
  5. NikeWings

    NikeWings Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I keep wifi turned off on my phone.......because you are right, it is a pain and a horrible connection to boot. Plenty of data on my plan so it won't kill me to turn off wifi.
     
  6. cgiGuy

    cgiGuy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    979
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    My blackvue (550?) has wifi off by default and I have to push that little button to activate it. Sounds like there's probably a setting for this in the config somewhere.
     
  7. Barry

    Barry Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    778
    Location:
    Colorado
    In the settings, you can turn "wifi on by default" off (it's called something like that - don't have the setup screen handy now). If you do it from your PC, I recall it was in the upper left of one of the setup screens. Then, to turn on the BV's wifi, you press the button on the right side of it.
     
  8. freeewilly

    freeewilly Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    Brea, CA
    I found out if I enable Cloud service, the "Wi-Fi auto turn on" is enabled by default, and I can't change it.
     
  9. PacManMX

    PacManMX Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Seattle
    There is a better way. Get the "wifi priority" app from the iOS App Store. It creates a profile which allows you to disable autojoin for specific wifi networks. This way my phone autojoins my home network but doesn't join the Blackvue one when I get in the car. If I want to join the Blackvue one I click on it in settings and do NOT need to enter password each time. See this Reddit thread:

    Can I disable auto-login of specific WiFi networks?
     
    • Informative x 2
    • Like x 1
  10. noobey

    noobey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    London, UK
    This is a great tip!
    Never knew about this app.
     

Share This Page