Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

HPWC Disconnect Switch Code Requirement

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi SureValla,

I am not an electrician...
The GE 100 AMP 240 looks like a possibility for you.
Check with your electric code people, inspector, local electrician...

The Square D Breaker enclosure is just an enclosure....
From what it looks like you will have to buy the breakers and other switchgear to
complete it.
It will be much more expensive when you are done...

Shawn

You should talk to a local building inspector. The breaker panel solution may not be approved. On the other hand, if you want to be prepared for multiple Wall Connectors, the sub-panel solution is much better since you can have a separate breaker for each wall connector

You should talk to a local building inspector. The breaker panel solution may not be approved. On the other hand, if you want to be prepared for multiple Wall Connectors, the sub-panel solution is much better since you can have a separate breaker for each wall connector
Just installed a second HPWC that was prewired when the first one wat installed last year..
Both are now tied to just one100amp Breakerin the sub-panel
There is a signal wire in a separate conduit for communication between the master and the slave HPWC.
(Distributes available 80 amps to both cars when both are charging)
Also installed a NEMA 14-50 outlet below the master as a backup in case of HPWC malfunction and to allow for driveway charging.
#2 wire to both chargers. (Overkill)
DCB126E4-56CA-4085-8B92-B72218884C99.jpeg

169D4D03-FE3B-4240-AA0B-460058CE8C81.jpeg

BFCF10AA-CE5F-4560-8C87-E2B3EDC56EED.jpeg

Just installed a second HPWC that was prewired when the first one wat installed last year..
Both are now tied to just one100amp Breakerin the sub-panel